Please review my build. I'm a tech newbie.

Status
Not open for further replies.

someoney3000

Beta member
So here I am with a gigantic headache brewing from 1 week of research:

Computer hardware selection review time.

I want to know if this rig is any good (is there any mistakes, could I get better parts elsewhere, etc.).

So here's the specs + a load of comments:

Processor: Intel e6600 conroe; I hear that it overclocks well to 3.6. Meanwhile I have to learn just how to overclock...

Motherboard: nVidia nForce 680i SLI; Basically for future-proofing reasons. I don't really want to install a whole new motherboard after all. And it also apparently is pretty fast + is good for overclocking.

Graphics Card: nVidia GeForce 8800; Just to run one game. Hahah... maybe I'm going overboard. Oh well. This is the main reason I am building a new system in the first place.

Memory: Kingston Hyper X 2gb DDR2 SDRAM kit; Performance-wise, I think maybe this is overkill. But I prefer overkill than underkill... if that makes any sense.

Sound Card: Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic; Ouch. Apparently it allows for “high-performance-hardware 3D sound acceleration” according to Will Vista Run Your Games: The Final Word: Test Configuration

Hard Drive: Western Digital Raptor 74gb x 2; in Raid 0... if I know how to do that >.>. Would this work out? How do you set up Raid 0 anyways?

Power: Coolermaster iGreen 500 watt; I don't know what kind of power I should get!! Is this enough for this system? A nice stable and quiet power supply is a dream come true, but where am I going to find that?

Cooling: No idea. I'm thinking water cooling, but will I need it for this set-up?

Case: Antec P180; will this work though? I'm not certain exactly certain if this would fit everything.

Moniter, speakers, keyboard, mouse, optical drive: I'm going to reuse old parts for these. So I don't have to spend money for them for now!

Here's the final outline:

Intel E6600 conroe
nVidia nForce 680i SLI