Please help me with a processor purchase - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2007, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Talking Please help me with a processor purchase

Hello people,
could anybody please advise to me on what processor to upgrade to. I fell behind after the 486 DX 66 !

I have a shuttle SK43G, this is the support list:

166MHz 12x AMD Sempron socket 462 2800+
166MHz 11x AMD Sempron socket 462 2600+
166MHz 10.5x AMD Sempron socket 462 2500+
166MHz 10x AMD Sempron socket 462 2400+
166MHz 9.5x AMD Sempron socket 462 2300+
166MHz 9x AMD Sempron socket 462 2200+
100MHz 13x AMD Duron(Morgan) 1.30 GHz
100MHz 12x AMD Duron(Morgan) 1.20 GHz
100MHz 11x AMD Duron(Morgan) 1.10 GHz
100MHz 13x AMD Duron (Palomino) 1.30 GHz
133MHz 13.5x AMD Duron (Applebred) 1.80 GHz
133MHz 12x AMD Duron (Applebred) 1.60 GHz
133MHz 10.5x AMD Duron (Applebred) 1.40 GHz
166MHz 13.5 x AMD Athlon XP 2800+
166MHz 13x AMD Athlon XP 2700+
166MHz 12.5x AMD Athlon XP 2600+
133MHz 16x AMD Athlon XP 2600+
166MHz 12 x AMD Athlon XP 2500+
166MHz 11.5 x AMD Athlon XP 2400+
133MHz 15x AMD Athlon XP 2400+
133MHz 13.5x AMD Athlon XP 2200+
133MHz 13x AMD Athlon XP 2100+
133MHz 12.5x AMD Athlon XP 2000+
133MHz 12x AMD Athlon XP 1900+
133MHz 11.5x AMD Athlon XP 1800+
133MHz 11x AMD Athlon XP 1700+
133MHz 15x AMD Athlon XP (Thorton) 2400+
133MHz 13.5x AMD Athlon XP (Thorton) 2200+
133MHz 12.5x AMD Athlon XP (Thorton) 2000+
166MHz 13.5 x AMD Athlon XP (Barton) 3000+
166MHz 12.5x AMD Athlon XP (Barton) 2800+
166MHz 11.5x AMD Athlon XP (Barton) 2600+
166MHz 11x AMD Athlon XP (Barton) 2500+
133MHz 10.5x AMD Athlon 1.40 GHz
100MHz 14x AMD Athlon 1.40 GHz
133MHz 10x AMD Athlon 1.33 GHz
100MHz 13x AMD Athlon 1.30 GHz
133MHz 9x AMD Athlon 1.20 GHz
100MHz 12x AMD Athlon 1.20 GHz
133MHz 8.5x AMD Athlon 1.13 GHz
100MHz 11x AMD Athlon 1.10GHz
133MHz 7.5x AMD Athlon 1.00 GHz
100MHz 10x AMD Athlon 1.00 GHz



----

I currently have a Sempron 2200 + CPU, which processor would you choose? Also, if I do pick any of those, am I likely to see a reasonable improvement on performance?

Best regards
tsbomb
__________________

tsbomb is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 11:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I'd get the Barton 3000+. Not sure how the Sempron 2800+ compares, though.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

You wont see an improvement, I would advise you to buy a new mobo all together and CPU.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks for the input.
So I could look out for a new motherboard that would fit the SK43g, or would that not be possible?
tsbomb is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 12:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

as long as your current mobo is ATX and the new one is, it should be fine.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 12:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks
tsbomb is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 01:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
as long as your current mobo is ATX and the new one is, it should be fine.
but he has a shuttle computer....so the mobo is not ATX....



i would get either the barton 3000 or the sempron 2800....both are great CPUs...

heres some socket A proccessors to look at-
http://www.pricewatch.com/cpu/socket_462.htm
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Default

Hi hmammen,

Would I notice a big difference do you think from my semp 2200?

I want to speed up by video encoding - right now for a DVD-R rip it takes more than double the time of my original. I know the real way to go is dual-core, but I dont think it can take that
tsbomb is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 03:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Default

Well, I think that you should just do a new build. You wont see much of a difference from any of those processors. They just aren't much better than the one that you have now.
nicholasp7 is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 03:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

you will see a little difference....but not much.....personally....i would build a new faster computer...
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.