Please help kind of a noob.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2011, 03:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Cool Please help kind of a noob..

Ok guys well im planning to upgrade my ram from 3gb of ddr3 (sucks) to 8gb or 16gb of ddr3 ram but my question is what is the best option for my build.. here are my computer specs!

Asus crosshair iii formula, phenom ii x2 550 BE (unlocked 3rd core) @3.33 ghz, ATI radeon hd 5750 1gb, 300gb seagate barracuda @7200, This is my first computer built so if you also have any tips on other things to upgrade let me know!! thanks.

this is a gaming pc so yeah.
__________________

computerstarter is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 06:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Please help kind of a noob..

You don't need more than 8gb...especially if it's only for gaming. It depends on what games you're playing, but I'd upgrade the graphics card...or get a second one maybe..
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 09:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Please help kind of a noob..

I'd say go for a 8GB (2x4GB) kit, can get one for around $40 in the US. Just make sure you have a 64-bit operating system or its a waste though.
Not sure why/how you have 3GB, missing out on dual channel speed if you're running 3 sticks of RAM.

Upgrading the graphics card would also be a great idea depending on budget and what games you're playing.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 08:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Please help kind of a noob..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roark View Post
Not sure why/how you have 3GB, missing out on dual channel speed if you're running 3 sticks of RAM.
Could be 2 sticks of 1GB, 2 sticks of 512MB. Unlikely, though.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone kind enough to help me out? lee88 Internet Software and Browsers 2 02-08-2011 05:07 PM
Need some kind of lyecdevf New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-17-2009 11:28 AM
would someone be so kind as to... Millenniumtiger System Upgrades 1 06-06-2006 08:19 AM
They are here, well, kind of... YanBooth Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 27 05-05-2005 10:42 PM
Kind of new ccskorn New Member Introductions 6 07-04-2004 09:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.