Please comment on this configuration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2009, 04:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default Please comment on this configuration

Hi all:

I am considering purchasing a new computer for my PhD computer science research. I mostly need a lot of memory but a nice zippy machine is nice too. I went to NewEgg to configure a system. Can people please comment? I am mostly concerned about the memory working with the motherboard but I would be happy to hear any advice.

Will this all work together? Should I buy something different knowing that this is for scientific computing?

I really appreciate your input, thank you!

Ethan
__________________

eschreiber is offline  
Old 09-13-2009, 10:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Please comment on this configuration

Well I guess that memory might work, but it might not. A couple of these kits will work but it's a lot of cash.
Newegg.com - Kingston HyperX 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) XMP Desktop Memory Model KHX1600C9D3K3/12GX - Desktop Memory
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-13-2009, 11:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Please comment on this configuration

i highly doubt you will be needing 24gigs of ram. even 12gigs is probably more than you need, but you could pick up that kit that was suggested above, or two of these kits to make 12gigs
Newegg.com - OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Model OCZ3G1600LV6GK - Desktop Memory

and switch to this paste instead.
Newegg.com - Tuniq TX-2 Cooling Thermal Compound - Thermal Compound / Grease
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-13-2009, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Please comment on this configuration

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
i highly doubt you will be needing 24gigs of ram. even 12gigs is probably more than you need, but you could pick up that kit that was suggested above, or two of these kits to make 12gigs
I can assure you I will use every gigabyte of those 24. I work on heuristic search and am building pattern databases. The more memory you have, the more powerful the pattern databases are. Why will the memory I selected not work? I do not want 2gb dimms as I do want the 24 gigs, not the 12.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
Thank you for this advice.
eschreiber is offline  
Old 09-13-2009, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Please comment on this configuration

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Well I guess that memory might work, but it might not.

Could you please elaborate? Why do you think the memory I selected will not work?
eschreiber is offline  
Old 09-13-2009, 07:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Please comment on this configuration

i don't see why that RAM wouldn't work. The mobo's specs say it can handle up to 24gigs.
__________________

__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NanoBSD a how to. Kharn BSD and Solaris 0 06-22-2009 09:04 PM
Webmin: One Stop Linux Configuration Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 1 03-24-2009 03:22 PM
Comment box? overlord20 Web Graphics and Design 3 08-04-2008 06:07 AM
Memory configuration, 1x2GB vs 1x1 or 2x2 vs 4GB kolobok New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-13-2008 03:01 PM
Please comment on the configuration... uniquepachu System Upgrades 8 01-12-2008 06:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.