Please check out my choices - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2006, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default Please check out my choices

Ok everyone, please feel free to pick this apart, I am a first time builder. I have an HP bought from best buy 4 years ago. I am having problems and was told it is my motherboard and need a new one. Also having trouble getting some of the new games to run because of graphics so i decided to build my own from scratch. I have read many many posts in these forums on what to buy and have made my choices. Let me know if i made some mistakes. I dont play any of those first person shooter games, mostly stuff like command and conquer, warcraft 2 and 3. I bought a new game a couple months ago and it require shading which my current computer doesn't support. This is why i went with the 6600gt graphics card, thought about the 6800 but i believe the 6600 will do what i want for now. With my choice of motherboard i think i could upgrade later if need be and have to buy only a graphics card. I think anyway.

Here is my choices. Would someone please check the specs on what i have chosen to make sure they are compatible....PLEASE.

MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...91#DetailSpecs

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 1GHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535


eVGA 128-P2-N368-TX Geforce 6600GT 128MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130214


2 OF THESE FOR A TOTAL OF 1024 MB'S........CORSAIR ValueSelect 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) System Memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145026

Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3808110AS 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148107

Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-500 500W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937

XION XION _ Solaris XON-412 Silver/Black Computer Case With Side Panel Window
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811208010


Total price $620.47 before taxes.

I know i dont actually need the 500w power supply but i dont know how to figure how much i need but i do know the graphics card needs 350w.

I have plenty of optical drives laying around that work just fine, 1 dvd burner, 2 cd-r's, as well as a 3.5 floppy. The only question i have on that is...will ide drives work with this motherboard?
__________________

sp855 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 04:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default

One other thing.......i plan on using windows XP home edition
__________________

sp855 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

for 20 dollars more, you could get a 250 gig hard drive (SATA). Otherwise, it's perfect. Good luck!
__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

It looks fine. Its always better to have more watts if you decide to add stuff later in time.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Good choices. That power supply should take you a lot farther than everyone on here whoops and hollars about. When the video card companies recommend certain wattage, they know that no one knows about power supplies and are saying that the crappiest 350W one should do fine. If we're on the scale of "Crappy PSU watts", then yours would be worth about 750.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 06:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

for a little bit more you can get a 6800 and you can unlock some piplines too.
wxt38 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default

I really don't understand what you were saying about opening up some pipelines. I'm assuming you're talking about overclocking or something like that that's over my head. All in all this is my first attempt at building a computer and it's an eye opening experience. I went to best buy yesterday to see what it would cost to buy something comparable off the shelf and boy was i surprised. Not to mention the prices of parts which newegg had best buy beat hands down. They had PNY ddr 400 512mb memory sticks for $140, a 500 watt antec psu for $120, OUTRAGEOUS PRICES TO SAY THE LEAST.

Anyway, i really appreciate your help! I have learned a lot in the last 2 weeks and i'm sure i'm just getting started. I plan on ordering the parts i listed on friday feb 17 and hopefully in a day or two i will be posting what good results i had.

Till then.............
sp855 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 09:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

we're talking about unlocking pixel pipelines

those pipes are in your graphic card, its kinda like the idea of a water pipe with water running through

the more pipes you have, the more water can run at the same time, and of course the graphic card would become faster

but theres also another factor that affects a graphic card's performance a lot, and thats the core clock speed and memory clock speed. its basically how fast the water runs.

so there you go, the more pipes you have, more water can run at the same time, and with high clock speeds, your water can run so fast at a time coz you have a lot of pipelines.

hope that makes sense for everyone
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 09:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184
Default

Unlocking pixels is cake and increases performances pretty significantly. There are guides all over google and hear on how to do it. I recommend getting a 6800gs and doing that.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130271

Sick deal on it
royalk4 is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 09:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

There's no pipes to unlock on the PCI Express version. And the AGP unlocking is a pretty rare thing from what I've heard.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.