Plan to get Laptop... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2007, 09:15 PM   #21 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

I've heard Toshiba making, great quality laptops.



b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 11:34 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

i'd rate toshiba's pretty high, its all about preference though.


My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware |
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 09:28 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 142
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

Originally Posted by Kdar View Post
Yea. thats what I mean. They are usable at list right? descent enough..

Ok... So if I connect TV to my Laptop, using S-video jack. I can use it to record stuff from TV? right?
Using that Vista "Media Center" or what ever they call it now.
You probably couldn't record TV using your laptop this way. However, you can get TV Tuner Cards for Laptops (my dad has 1) and yeah you can record stuff using that card.
sir nerdalot is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 03:54 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
kobe24's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

i hear that hp,compaq,acer and sony r good laps
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 03:58 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Kdar's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

I was today to sams club..

What do you think of this Toshiba laptop?

2GB of RAM
240GB HardDrive
Intel Centrino 1.73 Ghz
Remote w/TV Tuner
Windows Vista Premium

for $1349

I also saw almost the same thing.. But it have 1GB of RAM for $1049..
Probably 2GB is better... especially with Vista?
Kdar is offline  
Old 05-20-2007, 06:32 PM   #26 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

Toshiba is a good brand. I bought my daughter one with similar specs (1 gig RAM, no tuner, but w/1600 ATI graphics, XP MCE).

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 12:54 AM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

I can custom a laptop if you tell me the spec you want with low price. If you interest with it please PM me.
5starscomputer is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 09:21 AM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 263
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

Toshiba is a good brand and I've heard of no problems with them (other than BTAC) and their customer service is well respected.
penfold is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 12:55 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

i like that costco one, u should get that one, and battery life will be good since it uses Centrino Duo mobile technology w/ Intel Core 2 Duo, i say 1:40 on a crappy battery....
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 12:57 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

oh and lenovos are really hard to beat up, i mean they dropped one of theirs from a top of a building and still powered, but the issue is that they lack cd-rom/dvd-rom drives, u have to buy the dock bay for like 30-40$

veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto shut down of laptop due to cpu overheating advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-01-2007 09:23 AM
Gaming Laptop...? Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 21 04-20-2007 01:47 AM
Company Makes Million Dollar Laptop Osiris Off Topic Discussion 0 03-26-2007 06:32 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.