Plan to get Laptop... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2007, 07:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

That's a sweet deal, Kdar. It would be hard to find a way to beat it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 07:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 263
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

KDAR,
PLEASE checkout TigerDirect.com Super Buys - Computer Parts, PC Components, Desktop Computers, Laptops, Notebooks they have some really good deals. Everyone I know has had serious issues with their Dells. HP was good though.
__________________

__________________
---
penfold

www.futurelooks.com/
www.megatechnews.com
penfold is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 08:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
That's a sweet deal, Kdar. It would be hard to find a way to beat it.
yea. After trying to build same thing at HP.com.
The price at Costco was still cheaper.

I just interested about few thing..

How long do you think that battery last? How many ours.... The site say its "6-cell Lithium Ion Battery"

Also.. Those Cameras in Laptops.. are they any good?

Of also... I was wandering is I would able to connect this computer to my TV and able to record TV shows etc..
I think it have plug for TV

Quote:
Ports:

* Two USB 2.0 ports
* VGA (15-pin)
* TV-Out (S-video)
* RJ-11 (modem)
* RJ-45 (LAN)
* Headphone out
* Microphone in
* Notebook Expansion Port 3
* Consumer IR
Kdar is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 09:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

Quote:
How long do you think that battery last?
Dunno. Figure at least an hour, maybe more. Experience will show you.

Quote:
Those Cameras in Laptops.. are they any good?
They work, but are usually about as good as a webcam. You won't be shooting home movies with it.

Quote:
I was wandering is I would able to connect this computer to my TV and able to record TV shows etc..
I think it have plug for TV
yes. the S-video plug can be used if your TV has an S-video jack. A TV's resolution is no where near as good as a monitor, but they are usually bigger.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 09:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
They work, but are usually about as good as a webcam. You won't be shooting home movies with it.
Yea. thats what I mean. They are usable at list right? descent enough..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
yes. the S-video plug can be used if your TV has an S-video jack. A TV's resolution is no where near as good as a monitor, but they are usually bigger.
Ok... So if I connect TV to my Laptop, using S-video jack. I can use it to record stuff from TV? right?
Using that Vista "Media Center" or what ever they call it now.
Kdar is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 10:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

What about this?

Intel VBI Asus S96Jm Core Duo Barebone 15.4 Inch WXGA/ATI X1600 256MB/Built-in Webcam : GenTech PC Store

and get my own memory and such?

What do you think about this?
Or maybe there some other places, that do the same thing.
Kdar is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 02:38 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

hey Kdar, im not sure what you think about lenovo's (IBM's) but they have always been a personal favorite of mine.

what kind of gaming are you planning on doing?

that hp is not a bad deal though..
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 02:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

Almost no gaming.. Maybe some of those online, free MMOs if I get bored... thats all.

Laptop will be used most for College, Office work etc..
Kdar is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 06:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

then i'd highly recommend a lenovo. im getting an r61 in the next couple of days for college to replace my old thinkpad.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 09:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default Re: Plan to get Laptop...

What about Toshiba Laptops?

I was at some Computer store.. and looked at one Toshiba Laptop.. It looked pretty good.
__________________

Kdar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto shut down of laptop due to cpu overheating advancedgeek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-01-2007 10:23 AM
Gaming Laptop...? Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 21 04-20-2007 02:47 AM
Company Makes Million Dollar Laptop Osiris Off Topic Discussion 0 03-26-2007 07:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.