Performance Ram vs Value ... Worth the huge jump in price? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2005, 11:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default Performance Ram vs Value ... Worth the huge jump in price?

Hi

I've had a quick flick and i couldnt find this asked before.. soz if it has.

I need to upgrade the memory on my pc

P4 3Ghz
MSI 915 Neo2 Mobo
Audigy Platium
ATI X850XT PE
Raid HD setup
Top end PSU

Generally a fairly good PC

My problem is my RAM, i currently have 1GB ( 2 x 512 Corsair value PC4200 533 DDR2 ). And my pc is hanging takes quite a while for games to be ready once they start loading etc

I have the option to upgrade to 2GB of Corsair XMS Twin X for £270
But for the same money and less i could get 4GB of Corsair Value or Geil Value.

£200 for the Value select
£260 for the Geil Value

What would you recommend?

I pretty much only use my PC to play online games currently addicted to BF2 ..

Would i see noticably better performance with the performance Ram over the Value stuff?

Would 4GB of Value out perform 2GB of pro ram?

Is the Geil stuff alot better than the corsair value?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide

Cheers

Mat
__________________

majinvash is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 11:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Performance ram is only any good if you overclock. The difference with out overclocking is nothing.

4gb's of ram is even more pointless, because it will slow your PC down, due to it bogging down the memory controller, so it will slow down your PC. (If you have a server more ram will help.)
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 11:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default

More Ram is bad?

Would you say going to 2GB would be ok?
majinvash is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 12:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

More ram is good, until you overload it with more than it can handle. 4gb's is also not needed yet.

2gb's is the perfect amount for games like battlefield 2, where there is huge maps. I believe FEAR is also hungry on memory.

Anyway, If I was you, I would get the same again to take it up to 2gb's of corsair value.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 06:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

2GB is the new 1GB for gaming like bf2 and FEAR :shocked:
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Performance ram is only any good if you overclock. The difference with out overclocking is nothing.

4gb's of ram is even more pointless, because it will slow your PC down, due to it bogging down the memory controller, so it will slow down your PC. (If you have a server more ram will help.)
So what's the future hold? How can you make the memory controller stable enough to hold 4gb of memory?
Jayce is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 07:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you can't. It's on the processor now for the AMD Athlon 64 anyway. It goes with the processor, and as the processors become more beefy the ram won't slow it up. Perhaps the M2 socket will provide enough bandwidth to utilize 4gigs without bogging. I still don't see the need. You only need as much ram as your programs want.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 08:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to traviswrx
Default

So value and and performance are virtually the same until you start OCIng?
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/co/t...lswarrior7.png
PC Specs:
CPU:Intel p4 2.8ghz Northwood.MoBo:Asustek P4sd-le.Ram:G.Skill DDR400 2.5-3-3-6 1GB(2x512mb)HDD(s):1:80gb Segate Barracude7200rpm w/8mb cache92:120gb 7200rpm w/8mb cache seagate barracuda\'s Video Card:eVga 6600GTPSU:560w Thermaltake Silent Purepower. Full sleeved.Case:Blue RaidMax Cobra(many mods). Fans:3x80mm blue LED fans.1x 120mm blue LED fan.Misc:

My sig was too big. I put it on a diet. Viva La Firefox!
traviswrx is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

no, they ARE the same until you overclock. Valueram is the only way to fly.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

AH HA! I am glad to see that people are recommending valueRAM when someone doesnt intend on overclocking. It seems that people have been reading my RAM Guide! Or...maybe not
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.