PCI-Express Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2005, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default PCI-Express Question

alright i have myself in a bit of a problem.... i wanna get the nvidia 7800 GTX OC but i don't know if i have the right pci-e slot... it says the nvidia is a pci-e x16 ... and i don't know what kind of pci express slot i have... if it helps any i could give you a link of what kinda computer i have.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1124431830866

hope that helps some...

*updated*

My computer info!


Mobo
Board: ASUSTek Computer INC. Amberine M 1.03
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 3.07 07/29/2005

Processor
2.20 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 3500+
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache

Graphics Card
ATI RADEON XPRESS 200 Series 256mb ram (shared) -_-
__________________

__________________
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

theres only one kind of PCI-E slot for graphics cards and that's PCI-E 16x

It says your computer has 1 available PCI-E slot cause your card is PCI-E....all graphics cards PCI-E is the same so in short, yes you could buy the 7800
__________________

__________________
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default

well anywho.. thats just what i wanted to start off with for now, i wanna get a new motherboard thats supports sli but i still wanna keep my processor and ram, any ideas on a good mobo???? going for a 150-300 dollar range
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 01:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

DFI boards are basically the best in their league....this is primarily because they have a ridiculous amount of options in the BIOS for overclocking.

Some other people can probably suggest some other boards that won't be as extensive as far as BIOS options go....but the way I see it, more times than not people say they don't want to overclock and a few months down the road all of a sudden they want to try it and low and behold their motherboard isn't adequate enough.

DFI nf4 SLI would be a SLI board (obviously )

it's approx $190-200 last time I checked, but this was a while ago so I don't have any clue as to what the prices actually are.
__________________
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 01:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default

if i bought this dfi nf4 sli, would i need to buy anything else with it, or could i just shove everything from my old motherboard onto that
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 01:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

everything else would be fine, RAM and CPU of course....I mean AMD uses all the same kind of RAM right now and you've got an AMD Machine, your CPU is socket 939 and so is SLI.

You might need a new powersupply though as the ones that come with prebuilt computers aren't very powerful nor are they the greatest quality.

Do a search for PSUs here as theres been a ton of threads with people asking about what PSU to buy
__________________
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 09:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default

hrmmm how would i find out what kinda of psu would actually fit in my current tower?? and is all this replacing motherboard and psu something that i could do myself?? or something i might wanna take to a professional?

hrmm maybe i should just get a new tower completely, what more would i have to buy with that??? could i just rip everything out of my old computer and shove it in that??? hrmm that would be something i'd have to get done professionally, cuz i don't want to mess up my computer building it like my friend did...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 10:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

just need an ATX tower with ATX psu. psu's are basically a standard size so your psu should fit as is anyway.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 12:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 382
Default

Replacing the PSU is not hard. And the mobo is just a little harder than that. If you buy a new mobo it will have a chart for all your hook ups (especially if you go with DFI, great chart). Just be sure to ground yourself by holding onto you computer chasis when working with your stuff and make sure you put your brass standoffs in the correct spots. 1 misplaced standoff can cause you some problems. This is a nice PSU for the money BTW..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931
But you can always go with something like..
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817711002
If you have the money. Dont get me wrong there are other to look at also.
__________________

__________________
CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.