pci express graphics cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2006, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default pci express graphics cards

Why is it that i can't find pci express graphics cards that are compatible with pci e x8 interface ?..I can only ever find pci e x16 compatible graphics cards ..what solutions are there as i want to use my pci e x8 slot so i dont have to use one of my standard pci slots.

Even the online system scanner reccomended pci e x16 graphics cards for my dell poweredge, when it has a pci e x8 slot.

I would really appreciate it if someone could enlighten me on this issue.

Thanks
__________________

fearlesstiger is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Well, actually, you'll find that a lot of cards work in the PCIe x8 slots. At least, that's what I've read. They must operate on the same voltages or something, because I've read in reviews on newegg, "And as a bonus, this card worked just fine in my PCIe x8 slot."

So I dunno... It's probably hit and miss.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

yeah, I just wikipedia'ed it. The slots are completely different sizes. It's just a matter of design and bandwidth. I highly doubt a PCIe x16 card would work in a PCIe x8 slot.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_express

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks very much for your reply, i think i know why the guy gave my such a good deal on my dell poweredge...cos it had pci e x8 and not x16,..so my comp is old news...great.. .

I can see that the x16 simply wont work because it has no grooves and my pci e x8 is shaped so that only grooved cards will fit. Thats the simple reason why i could tell it wouldn't work.

Nevermind..
fearlesstiger is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Dell... just the name gives me a chill down my spine.

Their monitors are good, and their lappys ain't bad, but their desktops... BRRRR!!!
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

What desktop (s) do you think are best then..?:P
fearlesstiger is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Those built be the ones who will use it.

Outside of that, I like the really expensive ones... OverdrivePC, MainGear, Velocity, Falcon-Northwest, and the like.

Monarch can build a good custom system. Then there's Cyberpower and ibuypower, but I've heard mixed stories on them.

Last of all would be pre-builts (off-the-shelf). HP would be my first choice, then eMachine, Gateway... Dell wouldn't even be one the list.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 03:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I heard Gateway was kinda in cahoots with another company... but I can't remember which one... Anyone know?

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 03:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

I'm pretty sure Gateway is with eMachines. Someone told me awhile ago that Gateway bought emachines and is now their lower end computers, but it could be wrong.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 01:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

You're right, Aaron. Gateway did buy eMachines.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.