PCI-E Video Card Capable? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2005, 01:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Question PCI-E Video Card Capable?

Hi I have a P4 2.4ghz cpu will a PCI-E Video card the 7800gtx work? I currently have a AGP card in my pc.
__________________

osokk is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 01:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

depends on your mobo not ur cpu
__________________

EviLLLLSiNz is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 01:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default

more likely than not, you probably wouldn't have both slots
but there are a few motherboards with both agp and pci-e

a good solution without having to upgrade your mobo would be a 6800 gt agp version
__________________
GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Motherboard
NZXT Apollo Black ATX Mid tower Case
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @ 3.8 GHZ
Rosewill RCX-Z1 CPU heatsink
Sapphire TOXIC Edition Radeon HD 5850 1GB @ 800/1175
2 x 2GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 240-Pin DDR3 1600mhz
G.Skill Sniper SSD 60gb x2 RAID 0
BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI PSU
new.puree is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 01:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

If you have AGP, you can't use PCI-E. Like new.puree said, there are a few mobos with both slots, but odds are 999 to 1 you ain't got one of them.

The 6800 GT and the 6800 GS are available in GAP, and I think the 6800 Ultra is or will be. ATI is also bringing out some of their higher end cards in AGP, but this will probably be the end of AGP from both companies.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 02:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Default

ok i found out what mobo i have its a ECS M930 1.0 but i have looked online and cant find out if it can do pci-e also.
osokk is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 02:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
If you have AGP, you can't use PCI-E. Like new.puree said, there are a few mobos with both slots, but odds are 999 to 1 you ain't got one of them.

The 6800 GT and the 6800 GS are available in GAP, and I think the 6800 Ultra is or will be. ATI is also bringing out some of their higher end cards in AGP, but this will probably be the end of AGP from both companies.

ok if my mobo wont support do you know a good pci-e mobo that is recommended?
osokk is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 02:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

There are all kinds.

If you're going to start from scrath, look at a socket 939 board. MSI, DFI, and Gigabyte are good. Be sure that the mobo you pick out has at least one PCI-E x16 slot. Look for SATA connections, as well as dual-channel memory support.

Buy what you can afford in a CPU. You can always upgrade later.

Buy RAM in sets of two, with a minimum of 512MB. 1 gig would be better (2x512).

Buy what you afford in the way of graphic card(s). The 7800 is the hottest thing going, but it ain't cheap.

Onboard sound works fine, unless you are an audiophile.

Toss in any extras you want and can afford, like a DVD burner, extra hard drive (RAID maybe), extra optical drive, extra fans, aftermarket heatsink and fan, whatever.

If you buy a new case, be sure that you get a decent power supply. The cheap cases come with a PSU, but they are junk. Go with Antec (they have cases with their PSUs), ThermalTake, PC Power, or Fortron. Get 500W or better.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 02:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
There are all kinds.

If you're going to start from scrath, look at a socket 939 board. MSI, DFI, and Gigabyte are good. Be sure that the mobo you pick out has at least one PCI-E x16 slot. Look for SATA connections, as well as dual-channel memory support.

Buy what you can afford in a CPU. You can always upgrade later.

Buy RAM in sets of two, with a minimum of 512MB. 1 gig would be better (2x512).

Buy what you afford in the way of graphic card(s). The 7800 is the hottest thing going, but it ain't cheap.

Onboard sound works fine, unless you are an audiophile.

Toss in any extras you want and can afford, like a DVD burner, extra hard drive (RAID maybe), extra optical drive, extra fans, aftermarket heatsink and fan, whatever.

If you buy a new case, be sure that you get a decent power supply. The cheap cases come with a PSU, but they are junk. Go with Antec (they have cases with their PSUs), ThermalTake, PC Power, or Fortron. Get 500W or better.

well i dont really want to start from scratch i wouldnt be able to afford it. i would like to just buy a mobo that can support the 7800gtx card and go from there. haha unfortunately im a noob and didnt look into this earlier because i already ordered the card and its coming tomorrow lmao *slaps himself in the face* haha. sigh i guess you learn from your mistakes. i have written down what is needed to run that card and thanks for the help. oh yeah do i need to upgrade my memory? i mean i have 1g already in there. oh yeah this is a off topic question but my audio makes this popping noise is that the speakers or card?

thanks
osokk
__________________

osokk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.