PC3200, bad RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2009, 01:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default PC3200, bad RAM?

Hi all,

I've just bought PC3200 2x512MB 400mhz DDR Ram for a friends PC. Prior to purchasing this RAM, I checked the motherboard and it said that the max it can handle is 4GB, in either 256, 512 or 1GB modules rated at 400Mhz PC3200. The motherboard is Asus A8N-VM

However, when I put the two 512MB sticks into the PC, it only recognises one stick (512MB) rather than both which should total to 1GB. BIOS and System Info both report 448MB (onboard graphics allocates the rest).

I've tried both sticks in the RAM slots, one stick is fine, as it boots to Windows XP. However, the other stick just creates BIOS beeps....its as if this stick is not being recognised at all by the motherboard. The DIMM slots are fine as the previous RAM works no problem.

So, I've definately both the right RAM, PC3200 - which is what the manual states is acceptable. Does anyone have any suggestions? Or have I just received a bad stick of RAM?

Cheers all.
__________________

__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: PC3200, bad RAM?

Sounds like a bad stick to me. Usually long beep means memory error. If it boots with the one and you have put the presumably bad stick in the same slot and get beeps then 99% it is bad. Does bios recognize both sticks or just the one?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Re: PC3200, bad RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
Sounds like a bad stick to me. Usually long beep means memory error. If it boots with the one and you have put the presumably bad stick in the same slot and get beeps then 99% it is bad. Does bios recognize both sticks or just the one?
Hi Hefemeister. BIOS only records 448MB, which'll be one stick, I believe.
__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: PC3200, bad RAM?

send it back
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 03:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Re: PC3200, bad RAM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
send it back
I will. I've already emailed the bloke I bought it from.

Would it matter if the sticks were single-sided? These two sticks that I'm having trouble with have 8 chips on one side. The previous sticks had 4 chips on one side.
__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
Can't install OS / bad ram? dawizhacker Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-27-2007 04:21 AM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.