THis PC what do you think? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2006, 08:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default THis PC what do you think?

Anyone think this is a good deal? And are the graphics card upgradeable?This is the PC:
http://www.comet.co.uk/comet/html/cache/568_994715.html
__________________

sailpog is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 08:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigbaddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 156
Send a message via Yahoo to bigbaddog
Default

RUN AWAY!!!!! Just run away...as fast as you can.

Why?

256MB ram-was standard for cheap systems about 3 years ago.

40GB hard drive-ditto

32mb onboard graphics-joy killer-struggles to run freecell

Linux-free OS-ok if you are a programmer

Keyboard and mouse-none-how are you going to input?

14" Screen-c'mon really, 14"

CD-ROM-can't even burn a CD-DVD-gee whiz-DVD burners are 35 bucks in the US-can't be much more in the UK?

"This is not the computer you are looking for...you can be on your way....move along...."
__________________

bigbaddog is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

If the pound is roughly equal to $2, then that place is attempting highway robbery. I can buy three times the computer at WalMart for the money.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 09:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Wow!! If ANYONE orderd that PC from them he should be awarded as the dumbest person on earth LOL..

This pc will struggle running the BIOS screen! ROFL
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 09:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd give that a price of about $150 Australian, which is £59.9475 (according to www.xe.com)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 10:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

ok so its the worst pc ever
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 11:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sailpog
ok so its the worst pc ever
Yes for the price
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 11:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Got to agree with all the above coments , and also its comet, you just dont buy a PC from coment lol

Edit: just seen the product cover, if you pay over half what the computer costed you get 5 years cover, Thats even more of a rip off than the PC!
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 11:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Don't let it get you down, sailpog. It's better to ask and find out before than after, right?

I dunno what brands are available on your side of the pond. But I do know it is better to try to get a comp made of stock parts instead of a pre-built, period.

If you can't build your own, talk to a computer shop about building you one. Post what parts the shop wants to use, and we'll let you know if it would be worth it, or what to change. Just try to ignore those who scream about you having to have the newest graphics card or RAIDed Raptors and stuff like that. Buy what you can afford and upgrade down the road.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 11:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Were not short of brand/suppliers here. But Ive found the best place to buy a computer is as Trotter said, your local(not places like PC world, Comet etc) computer shop. That way if anything goes wrong you can simply take it back.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.