PC Upgrade, File copy lag - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2006, 01:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 118
Default PC Upgrade, File copy lag

I'm in the mitts of a big video project I move 50 to 100 gig's of files at a time from drive to drive and I'm doing a lot of transcoding and reencoding. I'm having some file transfer issues, but lemme lay-out the set up for you first.

==================================================
SYSTEM
------------
Computer:
Operating System
Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition
OS Service Pack
Service Pack 2
DirectX
4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)

Motherboard:
CPU Type
Intel Pentium 4 540, 3200 MHz (16 x 200)
Motherboard Name
Dell Dimension 4700
Motherboard Chipset
Intel Grantsdale-G i915G
System Memory
502 MB (DDR2-400 DDR2 SDRAM)
BIOS Type
Phoenix (06/22/05)

Display:
Video Adapter
Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family (128 MB)
3D Accelerator
Intel GMA 900
Monitor
ViewSonic P95f+ [19" CRT] (33M032400122)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter
Creative SB0240 Audigy 2 Platinum Sound Card

Storage:
IDE Controller
Intel(R) 82801FB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 2651
Intel(R) 82801FB/FBM Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 266F

Disk Drive
ST340014AS (40 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA)
ST3300831A (300 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/100)
LaCie Group SA LaCie FW800 Big Disk drive LUN 0 IEEE 1394 SBP2 Device (372 GB)
LaCie Group SA LaCie FW800 Bigger Disk drive LUN 0 IEEE 1394 SBP2 Device (935 GB)

Optical Drive
HL-DT-ST CDRW/DVD GCC4482
==================================================

Ok the 2 LaCie’s are chained via Firewire 800, and it’s connected to the computer with Firewire 400, to my Sound Blaster card.

It seems when I transfer say.... 60 GB's down to my 400 GB LaCie from the TB drive it takes on average an hour, give or take 15 to 20 minutes. But When I try to move a couple gig’s to the 300 GB drive windows says it’s going to take 200 minutes then after a couple minutes the timer disappears and it just kind’a chugs along, Also on my other system the encoding processes seems to take a third less time, it’s a AMD64 3700+ with a gig of ram.

I’m think’n about drop’n a gig kit into it; (http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...tCode=85018-10 also with MCE on there it get’s pretty dam sluggish during recording. But could the transfer problem have another root?



Thanks
__________________

__________________
DFI \"LANPARTY UT nF3 250Gb\" NVIDIA nForce3 250GB chipset
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
Thermaltake Fanless 103 Heatpipe Cooler \"CL-P0019\" (NOW IT\'S GOT A FAN ON IT)
Arctic Silver 5 (to bond�em)
ULTRA X-Connect 500 Watt Modular ATX Power Supply
PNY Vertro GeForce 6800GT
1GB DDR333
Antec P-160
120mm Vantec SF12025L Double Ball Bearing Stealth Case Fans in front and back
Gamer_RPK is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Don't all reply at once
__________________

__________________
DFI \"LANPARTY UT nF3 250Gb\" NVIDIA nForce3 250GB chipset
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
Thermaltake Fanless 103 Heatpipe Cooler \"CL-P0019\" (NOW IT\'S GOT A FAN ON IT)
Arctic Silver 5 (to bond�em)
ULTRA X-Connect 500 Watt Modular ATX Power Supply
PNY Vertro GeForce 6800GT
1GB DDR333
Antec P-160
120mm Vantec SF12025L Double Ball Bearing Stealth Case Fans in front and back
Gamer_RPK is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

OK we won't.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 08:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 118
Arrow

__________________
DFI \"LANPARTY UT nF3 250Gb\" NVIDIA nForce3 250GB chipset
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
Thermaltake Fanless 103 Heatpipe Cooler \"CL-P0019\" (NOW IT\'S GOT A FAN ON IT)
Arctic Silver 5 (to bond�em)
ULTRA X-Connect 500 Watt Modular ATX Power Supply
PNY Vertro GeForce 6800GT
1GB DDR333
Antec P-160
120mm Vantec SF12025L Double Ball Bearing Stealth Case Fans in front and back
Gamer_RPK is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 10:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 118
Default

Right now I'm try'n copy 6 GB from the TB Drive to the 300 GB drive and windows estimates went from 15 to 20 to 55 to 60 to 70 now it's been hovering between 58 and 62 for the last 5 min's, it go's up and down. But windows estimates less than 10 min's to copy it from the TB to the 400 GB, and it's on track to complete.

*EDIT*
Transferring from TB to local had an enormous impact on the CPU, explorer.exe 30 – 40% ,
Transferring from TB to the other external HD the 400 has a minimal impact on the CPU, explorer.exe 2 – 3%
__________________
DFI \"LANPARTY UT nF3 250Gb\" NVIDIA nForce3 250GB chipset
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
Thermaltake Fanless 103 Heatpipe Cooler \"CL-P0019\" (NOW IT\'S GOT A FAN ON IT)
Arctic Silver 5 (to bond�em)
ULTRA X-Connect 500 Watt Modular ATX Power Supply
PNY Vertro GeForce 6800GT
1GB DDR333
Antec P-160
120mm Vantec SF12025L Double Ball Bearing Stealth Case Fans in front and back
Gamer_RPK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.