PC Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2006, 12:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default PC Upgrade

Hey I got a 600mhz celeron pc. It is a coppermine-128. I wish to know how big of a cpu I could thow in this ? I have a Gigabyte GA-6wmm7 motherboard.

Thanks alot for helping out.

ps. I have no reason to buy a new pc because Im not a large gamer, and I could probably get a new cheap cpu from ebay.

BTW the computer I believe is socket 370
__________________

davegibbon87 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 12:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

you could throw in probably about 700 mhz celeron, MAX, because it only has 100 Mhz FSB compatiblity.

Please be aware that the mobo is from 1999, so dont expect it to be speedy.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Ok thanks but I got another question. I asked on this forum what I could put in it because I didnt understnd this site.
http://www.giga-byte.com/Motherboard...t_GA-6WMM7.htm

Im not sure where my pc lies in the chart becuase some of these pcs are tualatin, p3-celeron, p3-celeron copppermine and they have the same motherboard as me yet there are so many differnt speeds and I dont understand what chip will work for me.
davegibbon87 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 10:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Tualatin and Coppermine are different P3 cores. The Tualatin is the faster one of the two. Your celly is on fairly low on the list of supported processors. The fastest proc that Gigabyte guarentees compatibility with is that 850mhz P3, the fastest one that uses a 100mhz fsb. That's as fast as you can get with this guy. It's not a huge improvement, either. You might want to consider a newer mobo and proc combo.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks dude, how do you know what type of motherboard to buy? I was thinking bout going on ebay
davegibbon87 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 04:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

If you're looking for a new motherboard, I would not buy off of ebay. They're buggy enough as it is. I'd go through newegg. See if you can round up a cheap socket A motherboard for $25. Then ebay yourself a 50 dollar low-end socket A processor. Some kind of Palomino or Thorobred core would do you well.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 09:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Ok thanks but does this adapter work.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Socket-370-To-Tu...QQcmdZViewItem
or
davegibbon87 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 09:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks alot Im gonna look at newegg.com, you have all been much help and I greatly appreciate it.
__________________

davegibbon87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.