PC Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default PC Upgrade

Hey, I wonder if anything can help me?

I'm trying to upgrade my current pc, because it's slowing down majorly.

At the moment i've got:

Intel Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz OC to 3 Ghz
60 GB 5000 rpm maxtor hard drive
80 GB 7000 rpm maxtor hard drive
CD-ROM/DVD : HL-DT-ST DVD-ROM GDR8163B (CD 52X Rd) (DVD 7X Rd)
CD-ROM/DVD : SONY CD-RW CRX140E (CD 32X Rd, 8X Wr)
Elitegroup Computer Sys SiS648 motherboard
768MB DDR-SDRAM Memory Bus Speed : 2x 165MHz
NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200 128MB something by MSI

and I'm thinking of changing everything but the case, cd and hard drives

does this look alright, any compatibilty issues?

Intel Pentium D 930 (BX80553930) Dual Core 3.00GHz FSB 800 2 X 2Mb Cache 775
Pcicase PMC1240U 400w P4 ATX 12V PSU
Glacialtech Igloo 5050 Light (9D-5050400WO1) LGA775 Cooling fan upto 3.4Ghz
Leadtek WinFast PX6600GT-TDH128 EXTREME GeForce 6600 GT 128MB PCI-E SLI Ready TV-out DVI and Hardware Monitor Retail Box
DFI LANPARTY 925X-T2 SKT775 audio lan usb
Corsair (VS1GB400C3) 1024MB, DDR400 / PC3200, non-ECC, 184 DIMM, unbuffered, CL3, 64Mx8 DRAMs, Lifetime Warranty

All for £591.73 (1,055.10 USD) delivered

I know the fan, ram and psu are a bit crap, but I can't really afford to pay more.

Also I read that the other board doesn't have 2 IDE connectors would this course me problems?

Thanks for any help
__________________

Smoosh is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 06:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

i don't know about the pentium d... athlons are better. also, if you want to overclock, then you should have better fans, ram, and psu. otherwise, it's fine
__________________

__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 06:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Did you buy your current computer or build it yourself?
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default

I built it myself,

Also I won't be over clocking this, I don't think it'll be needed

I'm not really sure about any of the new processors, it all seems way more complicated now.

I'm not sure about the amd X2 cores, because they're 64 (not sure if it's worth getting 64 bit?) are the pentium D's 64 bit aswell?
Smoosh is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

I would get a MSI K8N Neo4-F or a DFI LANPARTY (both 939 socket) motherboard and a AMD Opteron 165 processor instead of your current motherboard and processor.

Btw, is this a primarily gaming computer? If not, what will you be using it most for?
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NathanM
I would get a MSI K8N Neo4-F or a DFI LANPARTY (both 939 socket) motherboard and a AMD Opteron 165 processor instead of your current motherboard and processor.

Btw, is this a primarily gaming computer? If not, what will you be using it most for?
It will be using it for a lot of things, gaming will be one, and also it needs to be run as a web server ocassionally for work

will that amd be faster than a duel core intel? or is it duel core?

is this neo board?
here

I also thought the opteron was mainly for over clocking which I won't be doing
Smoosh is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

'DUAL' core processors are in AMD's ring right now. I would also recommend that motherboard too. MSI K8N Neo4-F. I think I'm allowed to recommend it too because I'm using one right as we speak.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491

If I were you, I'd buy either the AMD Opteron 165 or 170.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

i disagree... he's not using it for overclocking, so it's not much use.
__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

hey, a PC acting as a server occasionally may as well use a server CPU!

Besides, those processors fill a gap that is in the X2 line. They're lower-clocked, but still have 2 x 1mb L2 cache.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 10:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the pentium d's are 64 bit. the athlon x2's are far superior. just look for benchmarks. cnet even showed that an x2 3800+ can outperform a pentium d extreme edition in some things. plus the 64 bit technology on the pentium d is actually a direct clone of AMD's technology, so which do you think would be more efficient at 64 bit processing?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.