PC Performance Precedence - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2008, 04:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default PC Performance Precedence

Just looking for some feedback on this topic here: Which is more important for PC performance: memory or processor speed.....and WHY ?
__________________

ezysk is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 11:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: PC Performance Precedence

Well, first and foremost, processor speed is the leading factor in PC performance because without the extra speed of a processor, 1333MHz RAM won't speed up your system. It is best to have a system with a high processor speed and then focus on memory. Any DDR2 800MHz memory will give all the performance you need, but if you wish to go higher, DDR2 1000, 1066, or 1200 will give you slightly faster performance.

Basically memory won't boost the performance of your system if your CPU is lacking, because all processes must be fed through the CPU. If your memory is top notch and sending packets of information at high speeds, but your CPU is still a low 1.8GHz, with low cache, it won't take advantage of the memory speed boost. It can't. It will just slow things down.

So in my opinion, it's CPU first, then Memory. It's like comparing your brain to your arms. You can have arms that move faster than bullets, but if your brain is slow and can't function, the arms won't be able to meet their full potential either.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: PC Performance Precedence

Its a good point. Was thinking of doubling the memory to 4 gigs, then I found out the card wouldn't even give me 3.
ezysk is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: PC Performance Precedence

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezysk View Post
Its a good point. Was thinking of doubling the memory to 4 gigs, then I found out the card wouldn't even give me 3.
Explain what you mean by this ^^^
Specifically "the card wouldn't even give me 3."
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 01:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: PC Performance Precedence

I think he means the 32bit os thing.

If you got 64bit it wouldn't be a problem
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: PC Performance Precedence

Some memory sticks like Kingston will have compatibility issues when not paired properly. I guess to avoid problems, then its safer to have everything the SAME.
ezysk is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: PC Performance Precedence

When using the Dual Channel, yes it is always best to use the same exact ram. But if you have 4 slots you can use 2 types of RAM as long as the pairs match. Not sure how speeds would play a part in this, but as far as compatibility using 2 sticks of one brand and 2 sticks of another brand shouldn't be a problem.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: PC Performance Precedence

The issue I may be facing, is that I have 2 sticks of 1 gig..a samsung.....and the single 2 gig stick...a kingston that I was planning to insert. They're both DDRs...but different speeds as well.
ezysk is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 12:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: PC Performance Precedence

Well, for dual channel only the two sticks of Samsung ram will be affected. Put those in slots 1 and 3 if they aren't already. Then the extra 2GB stick of Kingston can go in any slot, but it will not be dual channel since there is no RAM in the final slot to be dual channel with. The speed should not matter too much as long as the motherboard supports whatever speed it is.

This upgrade should still increase performance (if you have a 64bit OS and a motherboard that supports 4GB of memory), but for best performance increase you should get 2x 1GB of Kingston RAM and use that in the second set of dual channel slots (slot 2 and 4). This would increase performance more than a single 2GB stick not in dual channel.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 01:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default Re: PC Performance Precedence

Sounds good to me, thanks
__________________

ezysk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hang on! New Drivers to Improve 3870X2 Performance! gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 19 01-26-2008 03:42 PM
Dialup Speed, Tweaking slow performance SpenceQ Overclocking and Modding 8 12-01-2007 03:12 PM
Half Life 2: Episode 2 Quick Performance Preview Osiris PC Gaming 4 10-10-2007 04:13 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.