PC on my TV - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2006, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19
Default PC on my TV

My PC is pretty good - a 128 GForce FX 5500 AGP card, 512 RAM, 3.06 Celeron CPU - buy my monitor sucks royally. It came from our old computer, its not flatscreen, its not big (picture), and it's bulky. So I've been wondering if it could share my 26 in hdtv with my Xbox 360. I've searched online and found converters that will convert VGA to S video or RCA, but I wanted to make sure that it would work... and, I would like to know if it would display widescreen ( b/c my tv is widescreen). Any insight would be helpful.
__________________

kickemall is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Chances are your video card has an S-video output, right?

Change your resolution to 800*600, 60Hz, and get an S-video cable running from the video card to the TV's input.

To display widescreen, you would need a new video card.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 58
Send a message via Yahoo to Edward
Default

No he wouldn't need a new card I have the same video chip and it can display at wide screen resolutions.
__________________
(\\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(=\'.\'=) signature and help him on his way
(\")_(\") to world domination
Edward is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 02:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19
Default

ive got the s video cord, but the display is not coming up on my tv. Ive also got the Xbox 360 input cords on the tv. Is that messing up the computer display? Any advice would be helpful.
kickemall is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 04:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You have to set up dual display and turn the Tv-Out on. (drivers)
turtile is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 10:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kickemall
ive got the s video cord, but the display is not coming up on my tv. Ive also got the Xbox 360 input cords on the tv. Is that messing up the computer display? Any advice would be helpful.
As long as the 360 isn't using S-video, you will be fine.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 11:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I had an xfx geforce 6600 256mb and tried to hook it up with s-video cable and the picture kept moving down and never came up right!!!

I set it up for dual monitors and all of that stuff but still no luck and i wondered what would be wrong?

My tv is a 53" widescreen!!!
Norcent is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

thanks for hijackthis the thread


it could either be the s-video cable, or the TV.

I remember old TV's had the vertical hold toggle, and the new ones dont
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 11:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42
Default

i have done this before using an s video cable. first thing is that it is a terrible picture. i thought it would be a nice picture but its so bad. you have to restart your computer. the picture will be on both your monitr and tv(if you have them both plugged in)than as windows is loading it will cut away from one of them either the tv or the monitor. if you have a dmi in put on the video card or the tv i would think that would be a better picture.
ccm0030 is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 09:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I just got that 53" widescreen about 2 years ago!!!
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.