painting components black - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2005, 05:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

i guess the earphone plug can be colored black, no problem
if i cover the light with a bit of cellotape, it will be ok

would not the words be painted black in any case

i like the plastic paint, it sounds less complicated, can you guys suggest any other plastic paints?

the primer/paint sounds expensive too
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 05:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Default

Yeah, I was thinking about cutting out part of the side, putting in some led fans, a UV light on the bottom side of the top of the case and an led powesr supply. This would look kick A$$ and only cost me about $60.
__________________

GhostDJR is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 05:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

GhostDJR, If thats what you want, Go for it

rookie1010, yes, If you dont want it painted just cover it with tape. I have used the crylon fusion paint, Its pretty good stuff. They sell it at wallmart for about $5.00 a can.

My friend is a professional painter and he told me "The best advice I can give you is to walk away after you put each coat on because if you don't you will keep spraying it, then the paint will run and you will have to start all over"
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 06:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the advice DBD, do you guys know where can i find crylon fusion paint in the UK
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 06:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Default

Wal-Mart, Autozone? Any kind of hobby, supply, car, stores.
GhostDJR is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 02:24 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

we dont have wal-mart or autozone in the UK

i guess i can try homebase in the UK
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.