P4 to a Sempron? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2006, 09:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default P4 to a Sempron?

A friend of mine is upgrading his system soon and he gave me dibbs on his Sempron 3000+ and mobo for really cheap (possibly $40 to $60 canadian). As of now, I have a P4 clocked at 1.6Ghz with 256Kb L2 cache with an HP oem mobo. For one thing, my P4 does not support DDR memory, only ancient pc100 and pc133 ram.

These are the results of the two processors head to head (although I used a Sempron 2800+, oddly enough with 256Kb of L2 cache, the 3000+ having only 128Kb, iSandra didn't have a 3000+. The P4 is EXACTLY my own. I even did the test and the values matched):


So, his cpu, the Sempron 3000+ has only 128Kb of L2 cache while my P4 has 256Kb. Then again Sandra shows the Sempron being almost twice as fast. If I switched my P4 for his Sempron, would I have a decrease in performance? Plus, would DDR compatible mobo/cpu setups be compatible with pc100 and p133 ram sticks? I only plan to keep them temporarily. (the ram)
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 09:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Ram is really cheap atm. And you wouldn't be able to use the SD ram you have (different socket type.)

More benchtests of all the CPU's: http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/11/...05/page29.html

This is just a ranodm one I picked: http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=Samsung you could get it cheaper if you search around.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 09:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

Hmmm... the benchtests don't really feature my cpu (betting cuz it's so **** ancient) but if the Sempron 3000+ beats out a P4 @ 2.8Ghz, then well, it'll definatley be a good thing to trade in my 1.6Ghz P4 then. But what significant change will there be with less L2 cache?
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 10:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Sorry, wrong one: http://www.tomshardware.com/2004/12/..._2/page16.html

The less L2 cache is what makes these CPU's so cheap, but what it means to you is there is less dedicated really fast onboard CPU memory, so the information will go to the ram. The PC will still be fast, and faster than your current CPU.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 10:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

great, thanks for the help, but last question:

To buy a 3000+ in Canada costs about $100 retail. He's had the cpu for at least more than a year, maybe even two. For what ammount you think I should buy it from him now with the mobo? (I dont have too much info on the mobo, I believe that its an Asus, and at least supports PC2700 ram and AGPx8)
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 03:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

$40US with cpu and mobo.P4 is in a differant class than the seperon.The semperon was suppose to be like the celeron d but the semperon is about as good as some P4's.
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.