P4 prescott or Pentium D - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2006, 10:34 AM   #41 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Default

so i'm lucky to have got what i've got and that's that

i also had to change a jumper on the board to use the 1066 C2D
__________________

talisman is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 10:41 AM   #42 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Pretty much. At some point, build a system with a Pentium D and 2GB of PC3200 RAM, and buy yourself a system wiith DDR2 and a decent mobo.

Dan
__________________

dipique is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 11:41 AM   #43 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Default

LOL, i was originally planning to build a pent d system (945 3.4gig) but this thread turned me round and onto the C2D. Better performance from the C2D was the obvious deciding factor.

On day i'll buy some ddr2 and then a better spec mobo. The cpu should do for a while once i get the better memory and mobo some time in the future.

cheers
talisman is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 12:50 PM   #44 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default

apokalipse just lookin for some help, didnt want to start a new thread since its kinda oriented to this one... if ur not gonna help then done say anthing...

thanks dan but that link doesnt work, says "Forbidden : you do not have permission to access /download/1.6...6+-1.65.iso.zip on this server."
__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 01:00 PM   #45 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

http://www.memtest.org/download/1.65...+-1.65.iso.zip

That's the link.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 01:03 PM   #46 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default

thanks
__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 08:16 PM   #47 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bronxblaza117
apokalipse just lookin for some help, didnt want to start a new thread since its kinda oriented to this one... if ur not gonna help then done say anthing...
well it's just courtesy to make your own thread...
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.