P4 prescott or Pentium D - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2006, 03:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Default P4 prescott or Pentium D

hi there,

firs post

building a new pc for someone. (well he is giving me 300 quid to do so )

first question which is best of the 2 below (assume both with 2 gig ram dual channel). Not a gaming machine.

1. P4 prescott 3.0gig 800FSB
asus P4C-800E Dlx mobo
agp nvidia gfx card (basic 256meg)

2. INTEL PentiumD 945 3.4GHz LGA775 FSB800 ( http://bluirkar.notlong.com - short url) - £120)
asus P5P800-VM (£40)
same gfx card as 1 above (i know this mobo has O/B gfx but i'd use the card anyway)

reason for the mobo in no.2 is i have 2 gig DDR PC3200 ram which i want to re-use, it has agp slot and max ram is 4 gig and not 2 gig like a lot of the other low end ones).

Will scsi drives and sata drives be ok with that mobo ?


Ram is bloody expensive now so i'm also thinking (sacrilage) kingston ram for him which is 30 quid cheaper than crucial and has a lifetime guarrantee).

On top of that i need to get him a basic gfx card, a case and a psu.

so £120
+ £40
+ £70 (ram)
+ £25 case
+ £40 gfx
+ a psu

and i'll give him an 80 gig hd of mine as the one he has is a 60 gig 5400rpm. (****e)

he has a liteon dvd-rw to reuse and if he wants i'll get a dvd rom drive as well for a couple of quid.

bingo 1 new pc for him. Whichever it may be.

SO whatdya think. or

a. for the price of the mobo and processor (c. £160 quid) can i get better.
b. just build him a celly D machine (2.8 gig or something) for a lot less and save him some dosh.

(bearing in mind he has a celly 1.8 with 512 ram at the moment - and its an emachines)

cheers,
__________________

talisman is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 04:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

no contest. the Pentium D is not only clocked higher.....but it has two processor cores at that higher clock. the Pentium D would definitely be my choice. honestly though you should look at the Core 2 Duo range
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 08:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Default

thanks

pent D is £120 core 2 is getting much more expensive unfortunately + i'd need DDR2 which is another 200 quid for 2 gig .
talisman is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 08:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

an e6300 on the first UK site i googled including your VAT taxes is 120 pounds. the e6300 (not 100% sure) should beat the Pentium D 945 soundly and has the extra perks of much lower power consumption and heat output. there are motherboards available supporting both DDR and DDR2 as well as Core 2. if you find one then you can get a Core 2 processor and stick with the DDR memory for the time being and later get DDR2 memory if you see fit.

note: the DDR memory and DDR2 memory can not be used at the same time on any of these motherboards
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 09:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Default

thanks i'll go have a closer look..

what equivalent standard pentium or pentium d cpu speed would the 1.86 core 2 duo be closest to.
talisman is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 10:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well by guesstimate AT LEAST a Pentium D at 3.5ghz. i haven't really looked into the e6300 so that is more an educated guess.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 11:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talisman
thanks i'll go have a closer look..

what equivalent standard pentium or pentium d cpu speed would the 1.86 core 2 duo be closest to.
on sysmark the e6300 beat all the pentium Ds perfornce wise including the D960 3.6...the only one that rivaled it was the extreme edition which had an overall score of 256 versus 255 for the baby conroe....keep in mind the conroes can be over clocked like mad as well. In summary..no contest.

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=2795&p=8
Conroe is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 11:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Default

thanks.. that'd be ideal except i have 2 gig (4x512) DDR PC3200 ram which i need to reuse in this build as i don't have another £200+ to buy new DDR2 ram.

So it looks like i'll need to go with the pent D
talisman is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 11:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

Well, if you look for a Core 2 Duo, I would consider changing the mobo and graphics card. The board you showed us is way too old...maybe even for the Pentium D. For a Core 2 Duo E6300-6800, the best shot would be a decent board supporting it and a PCI-E graphics card.
__________________
The rigs:
1- ASUS P4S800D-X / INTEL PENTIUM 4 3000MHZ HT FSB800 / 1GB DDR RAM KINGSTON VALUERAM DUAL CHANNEL / AOPEN AEOLUS GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB/ 160GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9 ATA-133 / 10.2GB FUJITSU ATA-66
2-PC CHIPS M825G V9.2C / AMD ATHLON DDR 1333MHZ (2666 EFFECTIVE) / 1GB DDR 400 AT 333 (DUE TO ONE DDR 333 STICK / NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 / 120GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 / 60GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9
3-Dell Optiplex G1 / Intel Pentium II 400 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / Some onboard crap 2MB card
4- ABIT BH6 / Intel Celeron 366 / 128MB RAM / 2GB Quantum HDD / 8MB ATI Rage 3D Pro
5-Intel SE440BX / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 40GB Maxtor HDD / Matrox MGA Millenium G200 8MB
6- IBM Machine E5U / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 3.2GB IBM HDD / 2.1GB Quantum Bigfoot HDD / ATI Rage IIC 4MB (BIOS says Mach 64)
7- Intel SEA440LX / Intel Celeron 333 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / 4MB ATI Rage IIC
8- Intel AN430TX / Pentium MMX 200 / 96MB RAM PC-100 / 850MB WD / 524MB Seagate / ATI <ach 64 2MB
lhuser is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 11:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Default

this is all very good information and is helping me a lot..

thank you
__________________

talisman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.