p4 mobo and cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2008, 07:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Default p4 mobo and cpu

I'm going to upgrade my super old P3 computer for practice. Anyone know where I can get a cheap p4 mobo and cpu (only need 2.0 ghz)?
__________________

wait321 is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: p4 mobo and cpu

I would say don't bother and just start on a decent rig, even if its for practice, you'll be wasting your money as parts for P4's are sometimes more expensive as they are no longer mainstream.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 09:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: p4 mobo and cpu

I have to agree with Zedman. It will cost you more in the long run to get P4 stuff. As that is now old technology and wotn really give you that much of a performance boost over what you have now.

Even if you get a P4 @ 3.4GHz it still wont be as good of a improvement as getting a decent Core 2 Duo or Quad Core CPU. Which will give you more performance for the buck.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 01:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: p4 mobo and cpu

So what do you suggest he gets for practice? A cheap E2160 Set up?
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need new mobo and/or CPU dude112 System Upgrades 2 08-17-2008 12:03 PM
new mobo or cpu or both... Dainius New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-19-2008 10:38 AM
Mobo and CPU Dainius New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-31-2008 08:19 PM
hot hot hot and loud! (mobo and cpu) savagenator Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 02-28-2008 06:06 PM
ASUS m2n sli deluxe mobo problem. possibly cpu galvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-24-2007 02:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.