P4 640/541? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2007, 02:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default P4 640/541?

Looking at a P4 processor on Newegg, and I see 2 different P4's, one is a 640 (http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819116197)

and then the 541 (http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819116231)

I'm not sure what the difference in those numbers would be. If anyone could explain that to me, or give me a preference to which part to buy i would appreciate the advice!
__________________

NathanLedet is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 02:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

well aside form a 2 dollar difference, the 640 has 2mb of cache and the 541 only has 1, thats the only differences i can see
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 02:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default

so probably better to go for the 640?
NathanLedet is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default

i have the 640...i paid a lot more for it 2 years ago, though, lol...

but it's served me well...no complaints...
cheipazgeimur is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 05:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

yea get the 640, its got more cache, you'll be better off int he long run, but if you can get a pentium D get it, even if you cant get Conroe atleast you'll have a dual core
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default

Thanks for the replies.

COD2_fanatic, i'm on a pretty low budget at the moment. I picked out a motherboard that would support dual core in the future, so when i get a little more money, i'm going to upgrade the P4 to a dual core.
__________________

NathanLedet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.