Overclocking Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2009, 07:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default Overclocking Question

If a Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 2.66GHz is overclocked to 3.4Ghz will it run just as good as a CPU that came at 3.4Ghz stock ?
__________________

userfrom is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Overclocking Question

Simply, yes Though there are no 3.4GHz stock CPUs (well one of the P4s but that's single-core and completely different architecture).
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 08:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Overclocking Question

Not necessarily true. Cache and architecture can make a difference.

For instance your q9400 with 6mb l2 cache at 3.4 would not outperform a stock i7 975 at 3.33 gHz with 8mb l3 cache.

but if there was a cpu with the same cache and architecture that was a stock 3.4 (which there is not) it would be similar in performance.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 08:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: Overclocking Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
Simply, yes Though there are no 3.4GHz stock CPUs (well one of the P4s but that's single-core).
Ok thanks
userfrom is offline  
Old 11-01-2009, 05:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 186
Default Re: Overclocking Question

just curious about overclocking how do you overclock 2.66Ghz to 3.xGhz? i just dont understand how people overclock it. to make it faster :S
geforce8800 is offline  
Old 11-01-2009, 07:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Overclocking Question

This should help you:
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking question. jobmitsuo Overclocking and Modding 2 02-25-2008 10:50 PM
Overclocking a P4 GuitarFreak1857 Overclocking and Modding 7 02-12-2008 01:27 PM
Overclocking questions 101 lafguy81 Overclocking and Modding 29 10-23-2007 10:44 AM
overclocking question mikee Overclocking and Modding 1 07-18-2007 02:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.