Overclocking an HP pavilion with xp pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Would you attend an all-nude LAN party?
Yes, sounds like fun! 0 0%
No, I would be uncomfortable 0 0%
Maybe, I would have to think about it 0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 10:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Question Overclocking an HP pavilion with xp pro

How would i OC a prebuilt system... i downloaded the Frequency ID from Intel and now i lack OCing knowledge...please help...ive had WoW on my system for a few weeks and i dont get lag on the game....normaly 100ms lat! But my computer definatly makes up for it by Lag lag lag lag lag! Out of the game it takes atleast 5-10 min to startup!...and NO i dont have my startup loaded down. I have AIM, Google Desktop, windows AntiSpy beta, Norton 05 AntiVirus, and the Nvidia toolkit for an FX 5500 PCI OC. I am currently running with a Celeron pro....(ya..i know!). It runs at 800MHz and has a 100MHz FSB...I got this comp from a professor at school and i plan to use it for practice. The comp setup in my signature is the one im building...havent gotten the parts from newegg yet but im working on it...there ar a few revisions such as a 19" screen instead of a 17", an ASUS A8N32-Deluxe SLI instead of the LanParty, and a Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive instead of the Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 300 MB/s. Oh yea and by the way i think i need to change my whisper II PSU...sunce i no longer want the LanParty i dont have a picky mobo anymore...waht would y'all suggest?----im open for any! thanks
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 11:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

DFI - its designed for OCing.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

DFI all the way for OCing and SLI.
And sw_freak64, your sig is WAY too big, you should consider chopping it down in size quite a bit.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

468x120 MAX
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 08:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

is the mobo for the new system or the HP system
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 09:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

hp....jus wanna get above 800MHz
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 09:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

ok is that image better?
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 11:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

haha about half of that, either words or the avatar, just overlay the words on the pic
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 10:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

Dont mean to be a newb but i am just starting HTML classes and i dont know how to do that? how do you overlay text?
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 10:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

Btw why DFI over Asus???
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.