Overclocking from 233mhz to 300mhz?? safe or not? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2006, 04:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WorldIndustries
Very, very rarely do bios setting on a laptop support overclocking.
Pretty dumb to OC a laptop, anyway...I don't think any laptops support OCing. Not exactly safe and you can't control the heat issue.
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 06:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 84
Default

so thats a no?, i dont want to open up my laptop, and i dont want it getting hot, i had an old versa ages ago, and it was running at 90mhz, and it got really hot!
__________________

aff1993 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 06:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

Quote:
Pretty dumb to OC a laptop, anyway...I don't think any laptops support OCing. Not exactly safe and you can't control the heat issue.
you can overclock anything if the motherboard has the option to overclock but of course as you have said heat is a major concern plus it'll decrease your battery life. who would want to do that.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 06:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 84
Default

what about CPUcool? http://www.cpufsb.de/CPUCOOL.HTM
what does it do?
aff1993 is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 06:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

i don't recommend overclock throught the window i do it int he bios.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 04:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
Heres a question to you snake...

I've barley ever OCed so it might sound dumb to ya but... say my cpu wont reach an fsb of 300 when the default mutlplier is 15 and default stock fsb is 200, if i'll raise it like 5mhz at a boot and keep going like thatfor 20 boots, will then I will be able to reach an fsb of 300mhz? Or is that impossible and wont change the resaults?...

-Jo.
To answer your question, over clocking in increments doesn't make you able to over clock higher, it just enables you to reach the optimum oc level your computer will handle while being stable with out going way over, "trial and error". If your computer is stable at 300MHz, it doesnt matter if you get yourself there in increments of 5 or if you go from from 200 straight to 300, it'll be the same.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.