Overclock video cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2006, 12:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 116
Default Overclock video cards

Well I've been trying to get my hands on one of eVGA's 7900 Gtx superclocked cards with no luck. Every place I find is out of stock and on backorder, its really driving me insane. So I read an article about downloading some program and it is actually quite simple to overclock the card so then I began to think about doing it myself.

The two cards can be seen here:

Superclock: http://www.evga.com/products/moreinf...5-AX&family=22

Regular:
http://www.evga.com/products/moreinf...0-AX&family=22

So my overall question would be, are the heatsinks on both of these products the same? Therefore allowing me to buy the regular and bring it up to the superclocked speed. The difference is only 50Mhz on the core and 160Mhz on the memory. Also how hard would such a change as this be?
__________________

Difolo is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

They look the same to me.
__________________

__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy¬Ö
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

They are the same. Only the BIOS is different and the card is tested to work fine at high speeds.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 116
Default

So overall how hard would it be to overclock it? Also, I cant even find the regular now, everyone is out of stock!
Difolo is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 06:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

All you have to do is download a program like rivatuner or coolbits and change the clock settings. The card should easily get to the "superclocked" card.
turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.