which os to use - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2006, 08:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 131
Default which os to use

my dad recently brought back and old pentium celeron 333 with 128mb ram from his office and gave it to me. im just wondering what os would run nicely on it.
__________________

m6qrp is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 08:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

windows 2k I would think, but you still might want to get another 128 stick
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default

Lol i have xp pro installed onto my 98' laptop which works fine at "optimal settings"
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 11:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

LINUX!!!! either Kubuntu or Suse. they are really good in my experience.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Anything, just stay AWAY from Me.
Spartan is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Put linux on it.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 01:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Windows 98/2000 would work fine on that system.

My friend, however, is using an Emachines with 366 Celeron and 384MB RAM, and is running XP Lite:

www.litepc.com
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 01:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Windows 98 is almost 9 years old, and will be plagued with viruses the minute he's on the internet. (I installed Win98 in VMware just to see how long it would last, it lasted 15 minutes on download.com )

I have a P2 266mhz w/ 64mb of RAM sitting next to me with a scanner plugged into it, and it is running Windows XP Pro, and remarkably fast too. If you don't believe me, I'll take a screenshot.

XP lite is like "Here's a fast OS that can't run a lot of software because things are missing!"
The General is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 01:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
XP lite is like "Here's a fast OS that can't run a lot of software because things are missing!"

It just means that YOU pick the apps. It's great...no WMP or Internet Explorer. And it's incredibly fast...
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.