Opteron 180 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2007, 01:08 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Opteron 180

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
The Opteron line is AMD's server line of processors. There are many here though, that use the Opteron for gaming, and general usage.
the socket 939 opterons are actually the same as the socket 939 Athlon 64's, just with a different label.

The opterons always have 2x1MB L2 cache though.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 09:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 37
Default Re: Opteron 180

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
the socket 939 opterons are actually the same as the socket 939 Athlon 64's, just with a different label.

The opterons always have 2x1MB L2 cache though.
Ins't the Athlon 64 not Dual core though...So opteron is the same just two?
__________________

cikrum is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 10:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Opteron 180

The Athlon 64's have "X2" models... the X2 designates dual core.

This is a good thread.... I was going to start one up too, but just haven't had a chance. I am using an Athlon 64 3500+, and would like to upgrade... FX-60 is 'highest' CPU for Socket 939, but they are not easy to find (no Ebay access from work... grrr), and the ones I have found are $500+ NIB.... I would be better off building a Quad core system from the ground up. I was thinking about an Opteron, but wasn't sure. I would like to see more from users using the Opty's... If not that, then I might look into 4800+ X2. I am fairly content with what I have now, but there are a few times when a second core would benefit me.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 10:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Opteron 180

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethereal_Dragon View Post
The Athlon 64's have "X2" models... the X2 designates dual core.

This is a good thread.... I was going to start one up too, but just haven't had a chance. I am using an Athlon 64 3500+, and would like to upgrade... FX-60 is 'highest' CPU for Socket 939, but they are not easy to find (no Ebay access from work... grrr), and the ones I have found are $500+ NIB.... I would be better off building a Quad core system from the ground up. I was thinking about an Opteron, but wasn't sure. I would like to see more from users using the Opty's... If not that, then I might look into 4800+ X2. I am fairly content with what I have now, but there are a few times when a second core would benefit me.
don't get that FX, really crappy for the major price, actually they released that at a bad time, Zach, why don't u just upgrade to a biostar tforce550 or evga 590 and get an x2 3600+ (the upgrade would cost 200$ for the af64, oem x2 3600+ and the biostar tforce550) and reuse everything and push the x2 3600+ to 3.0ghz, ask nagasama to guide u thru it, and then u can get a Phenom
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 10:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Opteron 180

I can't, cause at the moment I am using an SFF Shuttle barebones.... only looking for CPU upgrade right now. Aslo, I have DDR, and AM2 needs DDR2.... so for the time being, I just want to upgrade to dual core. I have found some X2's for fairly cheap, but wasn't sure wether to go X2, or Opteron.

If I was going to build fresh, I would no doubt go with Intel Core 2...
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 10:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Opteron 180

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethereal_Dragon View Post
I can't, cause at the moment I am using an SFF Shuttle barebones.... only looking for CPU upgrade right now. Aslo, I have DDR, and AM2 needs DDR2.... so for the time being, I just want to upgrade to dual core. I have found some X2's for fairly cheap, but wasn't sure wether to go X2, or Opteron.

If I was going to build fresh, I would no doubt go with Intel Core 2...
opty 165 then
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 11:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Opteron 180

Well, if I do go Opteron, I will DEF. go for the 165, as it is $140 cheaper than the 185, and the only difference appears to be the 1.8Ghz vs 2.6Ghz... With the Shuttle CPU heatsink setup, I could probably get 2.2ish out of it, or at least 2.0Ghz..

But how does the Opteron stack up against the X2's? The only difference I can see is that the Hypertransport on the Opty's is 1000Mhz, and it is 2000Mhz on the X2's... Anyone have a link to benchmarks between the 2?
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 11:46 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Opteron 180

AMD Opteron vs. AMD 64 X2 - PC Perspective Forums

does this help?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 12:50 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Opteron 180

Thanks for the link....

Also, I found this... AnandTech: Crowning a new Champ; AMD's Opteron 165

Get this.... last sentence of the article...
"Opterons are known for their general overclockablity, so going with one of these new low cost behemoths and then overclocking in excess of 2.6GHz on air with the stock HSF is an easy possibility!"

I suppose 165 it will be.

I would suggest the OP maybe look into the 165 also, and use the $70 difference for a nice cooling unit for it, which should be able to easily make up the 600Mhz difference in clock speed.

Now, only if I didn't get that $95 ticket yesterday, I TOTALLY could have ordered a 165 today.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 10:38 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Opteron 180

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethereal_Dragon View Post
Thanks for the link....
...... Now, only if I didn't get that $95 ticket yesterday, I TOTALLY could have ordered a 165 today.
LOL!!!

ya a lot of ppl have had good results with a opteron 165, there's zmatt, and krazyq .. in fact i've never heard anyone with bad results...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opteron 165 $125 FghtinIrshNvrDi Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 12 07-31-2007 04:42 PM
upgrading to AMD Opteron 165 Denmark krazyq New Systems | Building and Buying 21 07-10-2007 09:06 PM
is an opteron worth it Poizen22 New Systems | Building and Buying 47 07-04-2007 07:29 PM
Fellow Geeks.. MrCoffee New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-06-2007 05:34 PM
WTB: Opteron 939 socket CPU hickfarm Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 04-22-2007 08:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.