Opinions needed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2005, 02:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 42
Default Opinions needed? update page 2

What do you think of this setup up. It will be used for mostly photoediting, and recording.

MSI K8N Neo2-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce3 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3500BPBOX - Retail

SAPPHIRE RADEON 9600 128M Radeon 9600 128MB DDR AGP 4X/8X Video Card


Thermaltake Soprano VB1430BWS Black Steel/Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 430W Power Supply


CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model VS1GBKIT400

Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JB 80GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive - OEM
__________________

simplechords is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 03:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

it is my opinion that your video card is a little weak. But hey, i'm a hardcore gamer...

I do hasve one question, what are you going to record? Video, Audio?
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 05:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Yep, Vid card is the weak link in this one.
Recommendation: 6600GT.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 11:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Only recording audio. I don't play any games or anything, so i just need a barebones video card.
simplechords is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 11:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

thats fine, no need for high end video card... U may stillw ant to look at DFI motherboards

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 11:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 42
Default

con you recomend a cheap pci-e vid card then?
simplechords is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 12:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Okay, you really dont have to worry about the video card that much. However, going with a PCI-E board is still not a bad idea. A budget PCI-E card would be a 6200 or x300, if you can, avoid TurboCache or Hypermemory model's.

But, IMHO I would use what you have now. Unless you suddenly become a gamer, you would never notice the difference between AGP and PCI-E. However with AGP you do not have the choice of upgrading to a current high end production video card.

I would usually make alot more recomendations, but your PC is good. It's IMO worth it to get a 160 gig drive as well, as it's a few dollars more.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Okay, you really dont have to worry about the video card that much. However, going with a PCI-E board is still not a bad idea. A budget PCI-E card would be a 6200 or x300, if you can, avoid TurboCache or Hypermemory model's.

But, IMHO I would use what you have now. Unless you suddenly become a gamer, you would never notice the difference between AGP and PCI-E. However with AGP you do not have the choice of upgrading to a current high end production video card.

I would usually make alot more recomendations, but your PC is good. It's IMO worth it to get a 160 gig drive as well, as it's a few dollars more.
i actually have that exact drive as a secondary in my current comp. I'm just gonna stick it in this one. I'm, alos puting my dvd burner in it as well.
simplechords is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 42
Default

how about this instead




MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

SAPPHIRE 100591 Radeon X300 128MB DDR PCI Express x16 Video Card - OEM


AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3500BPBOX - Retail

CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model


Update Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JB 80GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive - OEM (x2)

Thermaltake Soprano VB1430BWS Black Steel/Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 430W Power Supply - Retail
Model #: VB1430BWS
simplechords is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

everything looks good. if your just recording audio.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.