which one should I get? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2005, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Default which one should I get?

I am getting a new computer and I found 2 Compaq presarios that are both almost exactly the same but they have different processors. Here are the differences.

(1) Intel Celeron D 340 - 2.93 GHz - 256KB cash - 533 FSB - PC 2700 DDR RAM

OR

(2) AMD Sempron 3000+ - 1.80 GHz - 128KB cash - 1600 FSB - PC 3200 DDR RAM


They both come with 17" Flat screen monitors & speakers & Keyboard, 80G Hard drives, 256 Memory, DVR-DVD Drives & they are both $395.00

Which one would you pick?
__________________

Moonlightman is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 12:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 252
Default

out of these the AMD is alot better, and dont judge your decision on the 2.93-1.80 GHz the 3000+ is equal to the intel in that department
and this is proly not for gaming so looks like youre good to go.
__________________

__________________
TERRORZONA REPRAZENT
pwnzer
onyo is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 12:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Default

Ok so we have 1 vote for the AMD, Thanks for the input onyo, and your right, I am not a gamer.
Moonlightman is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 12:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

go with the amd, plus the amd one already has 3200 ram
contry is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 01:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Default

Ok 2 votes for the AMD. Maybe this will be a landslide tward the AMD, Thats wierd becouse I thought everyone would say to get the Intel. Just goes to show how much I know...
Moonlightman is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 03:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

i'd say sempron, which btw has a larger L2 cache than what u put up there?
LoTeX is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 03:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

read em and weep:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...sempron_6.html
LoTeX is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 03:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Default

3 Votes for the sempron. The manufacturers box says 128KB L2 cache right on the front with all the other info I gave.
Moonlightman is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 07:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

ok, the box is prolly right. so it's a palermo core?
LoTeX is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 07:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

go for the amd one!
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.