One Question, please help :) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2006, 05:00 AM   #21 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

All you have is PCI slots. Wish I had better news.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 05:01 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Will doubling my RAM increase the preformance?
__________________

Shikoh is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 05:04 AM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default

Im afraid not, Youre best off getting a new system, pretty much PCI wont help, as there is such a bottleneck, an extra 512 could squeeze 2-3 more FPS out of WoW, but not much. Id look into a new system i'mm afraid.
RGELLIS is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 05:05 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Aww.. Well Thanks for the help I might still buy an extra 512, just for that little boost in performance, and whenever I buy a new PC, I can always reuse the RAM i buy.
Shikoh is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 05:08 AM   #25 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

The RAM will help overall performance, but probably not the problem you have.

Since you only have PCI slots, you are topped out as far as what card you can get. You'd have to replace your motherboard to get a better card... and if you're going to do that, you might as well replace the whole system.

If you don't feel like you could build, buy a pre-built one (check here before you buy, of course) and pop in a decent graphics card.

But, try the RAM first and see what it does for you.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 05:11 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Alright, I'll look into getting another 512 tommorow, just wondering is there any RAM I could buy that wouldnt be compatible with my motherboard?
Shikoh is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 05:21 AM   #27 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

It has PC2100 DDR RAM. Get PC2100 or better. PC3200 will probably be the cheapest and most readily available. PC3200 is faster, but your computer will downclock it to match the PC2100.

Just DO NOT get DDR2.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 05:22 AM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Alright, Will Do Thanks Again.
Shikoh is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 05:26 AM   #29 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

No problem.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.