Old Pentium 3 RAM Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2006, 07:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
Default Old Pentium 3 RAM Upgrade

ok well i have an old pentium 3 gateway computer from 1998. its basically just used for web surfing now and storing information. i added a little over 100gb of hard disk space to it. but the speed of it isnt very good i think its somthing like 128mb of ram

i was thinking of this http://www.archmemory.com/index.asp?...ROD&ProdID=328

and im just wondering if it will fit my old machine
any commets you have would be helpful

logan9967 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14

anyone? i could use some help here

logan9967 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle

check gateways site or do a yahoo or google search, i have an old 1997 gateway and i did a yahoo searh with my model number and "RAM" and it came up with sites that had memory made specificly (or works with) that system. i'd try that.
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 08:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

get some pc133 ram. that link should work unless a) the 256mb exceeds your motherboards limit or b) your motherboard does not allow 256mb sticks which is unlikely.
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 08:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192

Could always take the RAM down to a computer store and ask for some more of that type, or just see what type it is (its can be on the RAM stick).
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14

alright thanks. yeah i doubt the motherboard cant handle it. but if so ill just have to downgrade the chip size. thanks again

logan9967 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.