old hp media center POS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2010, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default old hp media center POS

my old HP Media Center m7257c is pretty much worthless but its all i got. dont have alot of cash to throw around now, but apparently the nvidia 6600gt i put in it is now dead. the mother board is a Asus P5LP-LE. apparently all the graphics cards im looking at are too powerful for the stock power source and isnt compliant with the pci express x 16. any suggestions as to the best graphics card that will work with this peice of crap till i can afford a new computer (which will likely be a longass time). i was able to run starcraft 2 on lowest settings with a fps of 1-4 until recently so anything that would improve that would be awsome. thanks everyone
__________________

__________________
reb0014 is offline  
Old 10-16-2010, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: old hp media center POS

You are not going to play StarCraft 2 on a Intel P4. That's misjudgment right there. I'm afraid that you have no choice but to get a new one.

A 6 month old baby can't eat a quarter-pounder.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-16-2010, 10:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,387
Default Re: old hp media center POS

What's your budget?

There's only so much you can do with something that old. I did find a Pentium D 840 (the fastest CPU your board can run) here.

It can only handle a max of 4GB or RAM, but 32-bit XP will only recognize 3.5GB (including video memory). You could go with 2 x 1GB and either pull the 2 x 512MB or keep them in and make it 3GB.

You will need both a PSU and a graphics card. Here is a decent PSU and here is a good card.

All of these total up to $259. You have to decide if it is worth putting that kind of money into something that old.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 11:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: old hp media center POS

lol actually i did manage to play starcraft 2. 800 games of it infact, i simply suffered a ridiculously low fps. however my graphics card has recently been overheating in the 250 F range so ive was looking for a replacement.

and i was kinda just hoping to get whatever is the best graphics card my motherboard can support on stock power source and such. this comp is definitely doomed i just want it to hang on for a bit longer. 200 is way too much, just a graphics card around 80 or so unless for some reason it wouldnt work? thanks for the replies
__________________
reb0014 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to set up a high-end media room / media center demonblade Computer Audio and Multimedia 10 10-19-2009 10:20 AM
Network Media Player/Media Center PC Risensun System Upgrades 0 10-30-2008 02:38 PM
media center Alfredw1 System Upgrades 7 06-21-2006 03:40 PM
Media Center PC DahWhon Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 12-24-2005 10:40 AM
DVD Plays in Window Media Player but not Media Center ? AMD_Rules Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-12-2005 10:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.