Old Gateway and HP PCs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2006, 11:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default Old Gateway and HP PCs

I have 2 family friends who have pc's that wanted to upgrade their memory.

The Gateway Essential 933C (I think)
Is a p3 1,000 mhz with 64 mb of ram running WIN XP!!! So I would try to go and max out the ram, I got 2 x 256 PC133 sticks. According to Kingston's website, it can handle it.

I put in the two sticks and the display looks really messed up.. Like snow on a tv. I restart it, it comes up, says it can't find the keyboard, mouse, hd, cdrom or anything.. Then just sits there.. I restart it again. This time it makes it to load windows. Half way through it just restarts. So I put the old ram back in, it starts up fine.. Still cant find the keyboard and mouse (usb) The comp has no ps2 ports. But loads windows fine. I cant turn it off normally because I have no k&m. So I hold the power button and it goes to HIBERNATE!! I said O no! and restarted it with the keyboard and mouse in the front usb ports. This time the keyboard and mouse lit up. But now it wont start up.. it gives me the option to delete the hibernation data and continue a normal boot, but the keyboard and mouse don't respond. They are lit up, but they dont do anything.

The ram is PQI PC 133 256MB ram.. I got 2 sticks. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

dubbs is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 61
Default

How do you even run winxp on 64mb of ram? Im on 128mb right now and its BAD.
__________________

ItHurtz is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 12:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

I dont know, Its not my machine, it was probably horrendous. But anyway.. Anyone got any ideas?
dubbs is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 02:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Sometimes old computers are very picky about what ram they have. Kingston and OCZ are brands you should try to stick to. did you try using one stick instead of 2 just to see if it boots?

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Yes I tried 1 stick with no luck. I also have an old HP Pavillion That wont get passed the HP loadup screen.. I can't even get into the bios on that one.

Now I really hate old comps..

How bout Crucial? You think their ram would do ok?
dubbs is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

More than likely, yes.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 03:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Thank you, I should get them by tomorrow, Ill keep ya posted..
dubbs is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 12:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Dont ever buy PQI, Waste of time and money.

Crucial worked in both computers.. They are now running decent for what they are.. Thanks guys.
__________________

dubbs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.