old gateway - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2005, 02:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Default old gateway

i have an old gateway with a pentium 3 processor. can i upgrade it to pentium 4?
__________________

icehawk519 is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

no, the sockets on the motherboard won't match. and that computer is so old, you would be better off buying a whole new system.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 11:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

You can try upgrading it within the P3 family, but I don't know how much that good it'll do. Stick it in a closet and make it a media server or a folding machine. TF's folding team needs help
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.