old compac - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2008, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Default old compac

Hi,
Just one little general question here.I have an old Compac desktop with a 0684b board.Is there away to replace the Pentium 3 733 processor with a better one and this board is limited to 512 memory,could that be upgraded at the same time?Thanx for any input!
GS
__________________

sandgyp is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 90
Default Re: old compac

honestly i think you should get a new comp
__________________

remedy is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 07:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: old compac

THe board probably won't take a proc faster than 900mhz by my guess. Even if it could take a 1ghz or faster P3 it's really not that much of an upgrade. Same goes for the ram. It would use sdram which can be expensive to buy in stores and 512mb is insufficient by today's standards. You're probably best off putting together a new system.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 10:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: old compac

Thanks.....I just like the old girl,thought if I could find a used processer somewhere cheap,it would help her out.I think some of these units came with a 1 gig.
sandgyp is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 10:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: old compac

It really is not worth upgrading anything older than three years.
Ste is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 05:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: old compac

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandgyp View Post
Thanks.....I just like the old girl,thought if I could find a used processer somewhere cheap,it would help her out.I think some of these units came with a 1 gig.
You could definitely find one on ebay for cheap but the performance gain won't be much at this point. I just don't think you should sink anything more into it, just money down the drain, really.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Moded Compac Computer Halo187 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-26-2007 08:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.