OKAY, i need your input on the final decision - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 12:08 AM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

sorry but i don't see how that red gskill is better than the valueseries ram.. the value ram has tighter timings... 2-3-2-5 and is quite a bit more expensive (before mail in rebate)

BUT.. since you have an opteron, and you will most likely want to overclock.. (you don't have to.. but to keep that option open..) you should get ram that is clocked higher, like the ddr500 black gskill. that way you'll have no nonsense overclocking.. guaranteed to go 2.25ghz w/o using a mem divider.. probably more (given your cpu will handle that..)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231021
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 01:50 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the harwdare aspect of a pc could be built in 30 minutes to an hour if there are no unexpected problems.....but that would be rushing it a bit i think. to fully set up the pc including software would take 2-4 hours probably a while longer seeing as this is your first build. just be sure to read some guides first, learn about ESD (ElectroStatic Discharge) so that you don't damage anything. its unlikely ESD will be a problem but you would be a fool to dive in without being sure. any problems and we'll be here
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:12 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 189
Default

what exactly is involved in overclocking? I understand the end result, but i have no idea how i would go about doing it. First and foremost, this is my college computer and it needs to last me 4 years. I would have to be sure that i know how to do it properly and that the processor will still last and be dependable... If it does seem like a good option for me, then an extra 20 bucks for the ddr500 wouldnt be a problem... im just starting to worry that by the time you guys are done with me i'll be writing history papers and editing amateur videos on a 10k gaming rig
triskit is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 04:08 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

basically with a processor the clock frequency is determined by the FSB (or as AMD calls it HTT) multiplied by a factor called the clock multiplier. the multiplier is locked on all processors except engineering samples and the FX series. so the clock frequency can be increased by increasing the FSB/HTT which will also boost the memory speed unless a divider is used. my processor at stock speed is 2.0ghz or 200mhzx10, i've overclocked to 2.6ghz or 260mhzx10. the problem is the processor can become unstable and make errors and the only way to stabilise it when overclocked is to increase the voltage to the processor. increasing the voltage also significantly increases heat output so decent cooling is necessary. as long as your processor is kept cool and you don't run too high a voltage it should last four years
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:34 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 189
Default

so is this something that i would have to do while setting up the hardware, or would i configure it after my computer was completely set up?
triskit is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:49 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

you can overclock whenever you feel up to it. go into the overclocking section of this forum, read the stickied guides and then post any questions you have in there. its simpler if you read a tutorial and we help out with anything you don't get because i can't speak for the others but i certainly don't feel like writing a guide to overclocking here for you
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:54 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 189
Default

haha yeah thats understandable, i doubt ill be overclocking anyway, it just seems like an unnecessary risk for an amateur who probably doesnt even need the extra power...

if im not going to be overclocking, is the opteron 165 not my best choice? How does it compare to this Athlon:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562
triskit is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 01:50 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 367
Default

its pretty close, but if you OC the opteron itl blow that 3800+ away. tecnically, teh 3800+ has a higher clock speed but the opternon has more cache.
__________________
Setup no longer here.... need new one....
xenium is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 03:48 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 189
Default

ive got around 75 left to spend... i could either go up to a better processor (opteron 170?) or get a better video card ( 256 or 512mb x1800xt ?)

input...

what do you guys think of these

512

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102629

256

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102698
triskit is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 03:51 PM   #30 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

512mb x1800xt, that things putting the 7900gt up for a run, great card from what i've read.. and i was scared to oc my first time as well.. and if you screw up it just won't boot, but all you have to do is move this little pin to reset everything and try again.. and yes, i love the black ddr 500 g.skill ram, its worked me wonders, no need in dividers
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.