Ok tell me if I have this right... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2010, 06:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
pro2a's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Ok tell me if I have this right...

Thanks for the help everyone! I guess my final question is once I get the new power supply is there anything special I need to do while installing it? My fear is that I'm going to short something out like I did last time. I don’t know what I did wrong last time, but I don’t want to repeat it. I checked out YouTube and all they show is how to plug this cord into that and make sure you are grounded by touching the case etc... I know all that, and did that last time but still fried the MoBo… I don’t know, maybe I’m just being paranoid. If anyone has any pointers I would appreciate it.

pro2a is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 06:59 AM   #12 (permalink)
The Almighty Forensica
Yami's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,430
Default Re: Ok tell me if I have this right...

As long as you know how to ground yourself, you should be fine If you're not entirely confident, you can get anti-static wristbands so that you don't need to worry too much.

Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone HTC One M8 - Sense 7 - 6.0

Uni MSci Ethical Hacking, Coventry University
Work Trainee Cell Site Analyst
LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-09-2010, 05:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
pro2a's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: Ok tell me if I have this right...

I installed my power supply flawlessly and my PC runs 1000X quieter. My 1GB GeForce GT 240 runs like butter. I maxed out both Modern Warfare 2 and Starcraft 2... not so much as a twitch in the graphics in either game. I managed to score an ESD band from work today and worked on the kitchen counter so I wasn't standing on the carpet. I got it all hooked together (without shorting it) and it runs like a dream. Thanks again for all the help!
pro2a is offline  
Old 08-09-2010, 05:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: Ok tell me if I have this right...


Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.