Oem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 08:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default Oem

i just realized that the dvd burner i ordered is OEM. what does that mean? did i order the wrong thing? i know it stands for original equipment manufacturer but what does that mean for me?
__________________

__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default

If its a custom built computer then it doesn't affect anything. If you buy a name brand computer and don't put an OEM part in it, it could void the warranty.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Soyo KT880 Dragon2
1 GB Corsair DDR
80 GB Western Digital HD
ATI Radeon 9800 AGP8X
TheMayorsCronie is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

ok thats good... but anyway.. whats the difference with OEM?
__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

oem means that u just get the hardware itself. no box, accesories, or any extra stuff that u would get from a retail version. and not much of a warranty too depending on the manufacturer
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

oo ok.. well im pretty screwed cause i think the drive i got OEM has a different interface then my mobo.. i hope newegg can exchange it. im so pissed i was hoping to get my pc together by tomorrow.. guess thats out the window.. ughhhhh
__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

It should just be an IDE cable. If you dont have an extra one around, go to a computer store and buy a cheap one.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

yah..ur drive is an IDE and ur motherboard has an IDE connection...well since u bought an OEM drive, u won't get the IDE cable
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

ok thanks alot.. i just dont see in the mobo specs where it says it has an ide connecter. is it written somewhere else?
__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

all mobos have an IDE connecting port, its the same as you would install your/a hard drive
Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

I'm pretty sure mobo's come with a few extra IDE connectors also.
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.