OCZ ram vs other ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2006, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default OCZ ram vs other ram

I am slowly planning out the components of my new computer and I've noticed that an OCZ stick of ram with the same components costs at least twice as much, what is the reason to that and should I get OCZ instead of another cheaper brand?
__________________

poveren is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 01:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

ocz generally uses high quality chips and such and i guess they run a little faster than the value rams and OC well usually. other brands such as g.skll, mushkin, patriot and others often offer the same chips on their rams sticks but for cheaper. if you're really looking for overclocking RAM, do some research here, google, and on extreme overclocking forums and other places dedicated to overclocking. you're sure to find plenty of good info. about good RAM for such a purpose.

you're not overclocking? well then I wouldn't bother with OCZ unless you just like to buy the most expensive parts for fun. value ram will probably run just as well and for half the price. my patriot value ram benches higher than OCZ's lowest price RAM of similar specs...and it was still way cheaper. in addition, it overclocks better than most!
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 01:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Default

thanks! cheap ram it is, I'm not into overclocking, too nervous about frying something
poveren is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 01:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

yea its scary stuff
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 03:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

OCZ ram is made almost purely for overclocking. part of the reason you pay extra is that not only are they high quality but they are guaranteed. not many maufacturers will allow you to overvolt a dimm and retain a warranty
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 05:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

yes, a very nice feature. This OCZ Premier i'm looking at is cheaper than Corsair Value
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.