OCZ modstream PSU--compatiable with a Dell? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2006, 11:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default OCZ modstream PSU--compatiable with a Dell?

First I would like to say hello!--im new in these forums and I and hoping that I can help anyone, to the greatest extent possible, with anything pc related. Having said that, I appeal to anyone who exceeds my very infintestimal knowledge of computer hardware; I am deciding on upgrading my ATI x800XL (AIW) to an ATI x1900GT. To perform such an upgrade requires that I obtain a new power supply unit. Current I have a PSU that produces a total of 305W. Here are the specs of my computer:

MANU--DELL
TYPE-- DELL E510
PROC--INTELL PENT. D 3.0GHZ
MEM--1GB
HD--160 GB

I have two questions. My first question is, will my E510 BTX type case accomodate an OCZ ModStream PSU (520W) without damaging any indigneous hardware? My second question is, if the PSU upgrade goes well and I have no problems, and I upgrade the x800 to the x1900GT, will I need additional cooling fans? I express this concern because the OCZ PSU, coupled with the x1900GT, will generate more heat and the E510 case is small, which leads me to be concerned with ventilation issues.
__________________

areeves1 is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 09:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

It may not (the pins may be different - dell only)

Here are PSUs that are better than OCZ and they are designed to work with Dell:
http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...supplies/dell/
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 11:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

PCP&C are usually very expensive. I think he should probably contact Dell technical support about it.

Might not be related to this issue, but I replaced a PSU on a Compaq computer last week with a generic one, and it worked fine...
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 11:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

there is no way i am going to buy that crap from powerpc...it is way overpriced! doesnt even have the 28A that i need for my new graphics card! i went to the dell communit forums last night and saw that several people have placed OCZ's in thier BTX type E510 cases with no problems what so ever (other than voiding thier warranty). had i known about this issue beofre buying the pc i would have NEVER chosen a Dell! needless to say this is the last dell i will ever buy.
areeves1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.