oc ram/mobo help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2010, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Default oc ram/mobo help

Thinking about buying this mobo:

Newegg.com - MSI 870A-G54 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

and this ram:

Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000) Desktop Memory Model CMX4GX3M2A2000C9

is there anything special that needs to be done to make this set-up work at full speed (2000 mhz) or can it be plug and played?

Also, does anyone see anything wrong with this setup?

Additionally, 4 core or 6 core?

Thanks so much for input.

-Drew
__________________

drewjustforyou is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: oc ram/mobo help

The ram may or may not set itself up, probably not. While I do have DDR3 2000 myself, I rarely keep it running at 2000 MHz. It puts a big strain on the memory controller, which usually requires a boost in the controllers stock voltage. This adds more heat which equals more instabilities, especially at the cpu speeds I run at.

If you want some good, fast memory I would buy this OCZ kit of DDR3 1600. It priced great and if you raise the latencies it will probably overclock to close to 2000 MHz. It may not run quite as fast as the Corsair but it will probably run close. And you can use the savings on a better cpu.
Newegg.com - OCZ Gold 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ3G16004GK

If it was me I'd be buying the 6 core thinking of the future, but at this very moment a fast quad core will probably perform just as well or better in most games.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dr.House's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rx Counter
Posts: 151
Send a message via AIM to Dr.House
Default Re: oc ram/mobo help

I would recommend this: Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL8D-4GBRM

It is probably your best bet, if you look closely at the specs for the mobo, even 1600 requires some Overclocking to be done (OC) I would take the highest clock you can get without OC, unless you can be really sure it won't cause some flaky-ness in your system.

Plus that RAM has good timings and should be fine if you do choose to overclock it, not anything too extreme though.

I personally am just a bit cautious when it comes to overclocking because it hasn't produced stable results for me in the past, but its your machine, take my advice for what its worth (probably very little)
__________________
Dr. House
--------------------------------------------------

Desktop:Antec Sonata Elite, MSI P55-GD80, Core i7 860 "2.8GHz, Arctic Pro 7, 8Gb GSkill DDR3 1600, 4xWD Caviar Blue 164GB in RAID5 , Radeon HD 5750
Server:Antec Sonata Elite, GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P, Intel Pentium E5200 2.5GHz, NVIDIA GeForce 7200GS, 4GB G.SKILL PI Black DDR2 800, 1TB array 4x640GB WB Caviar Blacks in RAID 10
Thinkpad T61 CTO 2.2 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 2 gig, 100 gig 7200 RPM, 15.4" wide screen (for sale ~$800)
MacBook Pro C2D 2.2GHz 4 gig, 100 gig 7200 RPM
PowerBook G4 Aluminum
Dr.House is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 07:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Default Re: oc ram/mobo help

my goal is to get the GF to build her own rig, but she is relying on me to make it easy. I have never forayed into the bounds of OC'd ram, though Im sure I could make it work, I want it to be her deal. With my GFX card, I got the OC'd edition, and it was an easy instal, no bios settings or anything, because the mobo does say 1600 (oc) does that mean it wont work with the oc'd ram, or will it just not work to its fullest potential? (I dont screw around with fast RAM in my rig, DDR2 600 is plenty fast for my needs)

if it'll work out of the box (she can tweak it once she gets some confidence) than we will go with the 1600, otherwise we will do that 1333.

oh and Dr. House, thank you very much for your input, I believe we will end up going with your suggestion, just cause its easier to K.I.S.S.

-Drew

-Edit, what are the odds, before posting this we both had 151 posts... im 1'upping you. /macho
drewjustforyou is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 07:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: oc ram/mobo help

The Bios in most Motherboards will default to 800 or 1066 MHz. Performance wise DDR3 1600 will be the best fit for your new Modern PC. Adjusting your memory speed is a pretty simple operation, order the 1600 and if you need help all you have to do is ask
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.