nvidia graphic card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2006, 07:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
Default nvidia graphic card

hi

need help in buying a graphic card for my new system

my work includes editing ,compositing and 2d/3danimation but mainly softwares used will be adobe aftereffects, premiere, 3dsmax.


AMD 64 4800
ASUS A8n32 sli Deluxe motherboard
2GB corsair (TWINX2048-3200C2 / DDR-400 (XMS-3200C2) ) - recommendation needed here

please suggest me the best graphic card available. NVIDIA is a must .

thank u
__________________

wasworld is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 08:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I don't see why it's a must (not saying that they're bad), but if it is...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130265

...the 6800GS is a great deal.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 11:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

for work that simple id reccomend just a baseline 6200. 6800gs is overkill.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 05:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

And that is the number one reason I shouldn't post while not yet awake...sorry.

Yeah, the 6200 will do fine; and if you're short on cash in the way of a vid card, an FX5700 would probably do too...
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 05:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdude425


...Yeah, the 6200 will do fine...
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.