nVidia 9600GT on a 250w PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2009, 06:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Default nVidia 9600GT on a 250w PSU?

MY VIDEO CARD IS CRAP! I have a ATi Radeon Xpress 200, it struggles with The Sims 2! Imagine how awful it would be for some more challenging games! So I've decided to get a new graphics card...
I hav my eyes set on the nVidia 9600GT. But I need a better PSU, at least 350w apparently. So my question is, do i really need a better PSU? Or is this just a way of the SPU cartels getting more money out of me? Coz I reall don't wanna touch my PSU. I wanna just keep the current one.

Here are my PC specs:
Windows XP Home SP3 32 Bit
1.25GB RAM (with current card, but 1.5GB without current card)
Intel Pentium D 820 Dual Core Processor 2.83GHz
1TB HDD


The name of my psu is FSP250-60GEN. It has AC Input: 100-240v
DC output: +3.3v. If that makes sense?

So can I run the 9600GT on here? Will my PSU limit it’s graphical powers? And could I potentially run Fallout 3 or GTA IV if I got this card? If not, why?

Thanks everyone!
__________________

NoobWithMoobs is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 08:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: nVidia 9600GT on a 250w PSU?

I can't find any specific details on your power supply (what we really need is the wattage), but my guess is an almost definite no, you won't be able to run a 9600GT (or anything half-decent, really).

Quote:
And could I potentially run Fallout 3 or GTA IV if I got this card? If not, why?
Fallout 3 might run okay with your CPU and a 9600 - provided you play at low settings and low resolution (no higher than 1280x1024).
GTAIV will go at a crawl (but the issue there is with your CPU, you'd need to upgrade it along with your GPU if you want to play GTAIV).

Anyway bottom line, if you want to be able to play games, you'll need to get a new power supply too, which we can help you with.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 08:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: nVidia 9600GT on a 250w PSU?

350w is even on the low side for a gaming system. If you have less than that I imagine you will need to upgrade.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 09:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: nVidia 9600GT on a 250w PSU?

While FSP is a decent brand, 250W will almost certainly not power a 9600GT and a pentium D. Apart from anything else the 9600 will require a PCI-e power which the PSU will not have.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 09:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: nVidia 9600GT on a 250w PSU?

Ok, but the problem is, I don't feel comfortable installing a new PSU. Seems kinda dangerous with such a high wattage/ voltage, etc. But I suppsoe I can get a guy in the computer shop to do so. What power supply brand and wattage would you reccommend?
NoobWithMoobs is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 09:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: nVidia 9600GT on a 250w PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoobWithMoobs View Post
Ok, but the problem is, I don't feel comfortable installing a new PSU. Seems kinda dangerous with such a high wattage/ voltage, etc. But I suppsoe I can get a guy in the computer shop to do so. What power supply brand and wattage would you reccommend?
There's absolutely no danger installing a PSU unless you take it apart and stick your hand in it and turn it on. And even then you'll just give yourself a nasty shock (and short the PSU).
But if you're not comfortable with it then computer shop sounds like a good idea.

Anyway, PSUs:
You get this 550W one which will allow you to upgrade more easily in future to more powerful cards, since it has 2 PCI-E connectors:
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W ATX12V V2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

Alternatively this one is only $40 but will severely limit your upgrading capabilities, GPU-wise.
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-400CX 400W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 12:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: nVidia 9600GT on a 250w PSU?

Basically when upgrading the PSU in a computer, firstly just unplug it. Then, look for the places on the back of the case that look like they are holding the PSU in place. Unscrew them, keep the screws somewhere safe, then remove it from the side of the case.

To replace it, put the new PSU in from inside the case in the same position as the original case, hold the PSU with your hand and screw one in.. then screw the others in.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire t160 - time to upgrade my PSU? jimmymcma System Upgrades 8 01-08-2009 07:01 PM
No More Nvidia Chipsets! Drizzt New Technology and Products 11 08-02-2008 05:41 PM
NVIDIA Prepares Single-chip Mobile Platform for Intel Processors maroon1 Laptops and Notebooks 0 04-30-2008 04:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.