nuts and bolts are in, won't get past bios screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2011, 12:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default nuts and bolts are in, won't get past bios screen

OK, so.

I bolted everything together, and I'm pretty sure I've got everything in and wired correctly. I'm stuck at the Asus screen, and it's giving me options for:

Del - BIOS setup
TAB - display BIOS POST message
F8 - boot menu
Alt-F2 - ez flash 2

That's all fantastic, but it won't detect keystrokes. I've tried 2 different boards, neither is accepted.

There was a puff of smoke when I first flipped the switch, I'm desperately hoping that that was just paint being burned off.

Here's the specs:
Asus M4N68T-M V2
AMD AthlonII X3 455
Patriot PCS-10666 1333MHZ (4GBx2)

This was not intended to be a killer build. It's being used as a cheapo media server hooked up to a TV via HDMI.

Any ideas?
__________________

willt is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: nuts and bolts are in, won't get past bios screen

A puff of smoke? From where? That is almost certainly pointing to a short on something if you got smoke and now the USB controller isn't seeing a keyboard. Check to make sure your standoffs for the mobo are in the correct location.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: nuts and bolts are in, won't get past bios screen

If it smoked your going to have to RMA the involved component.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 01:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: nuts and bolts are in, won't get past bios screen

From where: not sure. I had the case closed up when I first powered the system up. It's an older keyboard, using a ps/2 port, so that's maybe what fizzled. I'll have to get in touch with Fry's and see if I can exchange it or have to go through the whole RMA process. oh goody
willt is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 70
Default Re: nuts and bolts are in, won't get past bios screen

This is why its suggested you put everything together outside the case and test the parts, then place it in the case. Like corrosive said, it sounds like you shorted something.
Overclocked_Keyboard is offline  
Old 11-23-2011, 01:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: nuts and bolts are in, won't get past bios screen

Hm, never heard that before. No matter, went and bought a Gigabyte board, that's up and running.
__________________

willt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen Sticking problem (please help this REALLY is driveing me nuts) Ajdeathgiver Overclocking and Modding 12 03-01-2007 01:44 PM
How to get past bios? Winner Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-18-2006 11:34 AM
Can't get past the bios at All! Agh! patrickc284 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 03-08-2006 02:35 PM
PC won't boot past BIOS Usmaak Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 07-08-2005 12:50 AM
How to get past a bios password! adinu Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 05-10-2005 03:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.