Nude Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2008, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Nude Computer

Umm just got my computer today, installed all the hardware and etc. But due to my slow thinking I had to RMA my small case. So I was wondering just how do I turn on my computer without a case?
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 07:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: Nude Computer

You probably shouldn't, It's just not a good idea to have a bunch of computer parts out in the open. You can't account for the static electricity of that area they're in. The whole purpose of a case is to protect the parts and have constant airflow over the parts for proper cooling. However, If you want to go ahead and do it anyway, Get a power switch and plug it into your motherboard, Goodluck with the case RMA.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Nude Computer

its not the best idea and makesure you dont touch anything, but put everthing on cardboard and take a old switch off a old case
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 09:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Black.Ice. Send a message via MSN to Black.Ice.
Default Re: Nude Computer

Gawd.... Static is so overrated.

Plenty of people operate their systems w/o the case for troubleshooting/testing reasons.

Just find a anti-static bag (ie. the one that came with mobo) or a cardboard and you're all good.

Nice Topic Name btw...
Black.Ice. is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 09:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Nude Computer

ya... at first i was thinking u ment porn came pre-installed on your HDD... i was about to ask you where you got it from.

But ya, i know plenty of people who do it... just keep any pets away from it and when your family is around tell them it's a bomb or something that could go off at any moment and needs to be stayed away from.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 10:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Nude Computer

Now I got to go steal a power switch.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 10:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 137
Default Re: Nude Computer

You don't need to steal a power switch. All you really need to do is touch the two prongs that the power switch is normally connected to. All it takes is a screw driver, or a knife or something. Just a split second is all the system needs to turn on. Though I wouldn't reccomend doing this often. I'd suggest getting it back in that case asap.
Lorithad is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 10:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Nude Computer

if you have a problem finding one dont try to make one.... lol i know it sounds like stupid advice but you never know what people will do... just trust me dont do it.

I would never do that lorithad -_- at the rist of frying a mobo....too many variables.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 10:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Nude Computer

Dude I m a ****ing idiot. My computer had an on board power switch. So I didn't have too much to do. But it still took me 3 hours to realize that all I had to do was press one button. Welcome to the level of my idiotacy.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 10:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default Re: Nude Computer

Yo bout that "nude pc".. i've had this second computer I own sitting next to me on the floor in the top of this cardboard box for over a year.. all its parts out and i have animals, a fishtank right above it (LOL). Havent ever had a problem with it.. everyone once and again i pull out my can of compressed air and blow any dust. I say static is overrated!..haha O yea my floor is carpet. Oo
__________________

__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Please help, computer won't turn on PcMe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 01-06-2008 08:28 PM
Computer Freezes During Games! Syrak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 09-24-2007 11:47 PM
My computer Won't start up SpRi7e Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-29-2007 01:49 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.