A novice thinking of upgrading his PC - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2012, 02:27 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

Ah, okay. I got it now.

+3.3V: 24A
+5V: 32A
+12V1: 21A
+12V2: 22A
-12V: 0.6A
+5Vsb: 2A

How's that? Does that work well for me?
__________________

Foffy is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 03:04 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

I would say its time for a new power supply.

Its suggested you have a 600-650W power supply, and a quality 650W will have ~53-54A on the 12V rails.
So if yours is a 700W at 43A its not giving the kick that is expected of it.
Although a dead giveaway should have been your comment on the first page about it not even having the proper connectors.

My suggestions:
$80 Antec EarthWatts 650W (-$20 promo code till 4/22)
$90 OCZ ZT 650W Modular ($20 mail in rebate + $20 gift card will 4/30)
Modular means that the cables you aren't using can be removed so they don't clutter up your case.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 03:18 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

About the power supply, it comes with cables, right? Could I use my old cables on the new supply? I assume even with the one I have, I'm putting all of this stuff at risk with use? Would getting a new one help with the heat issue I'm noticing? Should I get one that's stronger, or are the ones you suggested a good sweet spot for what I have?

I'm worried with a new supply that I have no disconnect all of my old cables, and I might connect wrong things and what have you. D:
Foffy is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 03:33 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

You will have to disconnect wires from your devices. HDD, mobo 24-pin, optical, etc.

A new power supply will come prewired.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 03:37 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

Oh gosh. Is it hard to set up all of the new wires? Like, does it come with detailed instructions?
Foffy is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 04:58 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foffy View Post
About the power supply, it comes with cables, right? Could I use my old cables on the new supply? I assume even with the one I have, I'm putting all of this stuff at risk with use? Would getting a new one help with the heat issue I'm noticing? Should I get one that's stronger, or are the ones you suggested a good sweet spot for what I have?

I'm worried with a new supply that I have no disconnect all of my old cables, and I might connect wrong things and what have you. D:
Yes they come with new cables, and no you won't be able to use your old cables.
What I did last time I switched power supplies is left all the cables connected but detached the supply from the case, then attached the new supply and swapped out the cables one by one.

There probably wasn't much risk with your old setup since it wasn't as demanding on the power supply.
But when you added the GTX 580 it suddenly was being asked for a lot more.
For the setup you have a stronger power supply isn't needed, unless you plan on doing more upgrades that will draw more power.

As to the heat, the GTX 580 is going to produce more heat, thats all there is to it.
However, when they build the cooling for the card they design it so it can handle it.

As long as the CPU temps (top box) don't go much over 70C, and the GPU temps (bottom box) don't go much over 90C, then you're fine.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 06:46 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

So wait..I actually don't need a new power supply for the setup I have now? All I wanted to boost was the GPU at present. If my power can handle my current stuff without risking any particular damage, I think I'm good for now.
Foffy is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 07:18 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foffy View Post
If my power can handle my current stuff without risking any particular damage, I think I'm good for now.
If you have already installed it and its working then great.

Is it possible that you won't have any problems? Sure.
And if you're willing to roll those dice then more power to you.
I personally would not trust a 700W power supply that has barely more amperage than a decent 600W.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 04-24-2012, 02:45 AM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

I bought another power supply, but over the weekend I've noticed I've been getting random BSODs. I haven't changed ANYTHING beyond updating the GPU drivers, and it randomly happens. The messages are all random, too: one involves the NTFS table, and another involved the USB drivers...but after rebooting a bit, everything's fine.

What I wanted to ask here was is there a chance I'm getting BSODs due to the power supply? I've tried no games on it since I ordered the new PSU, but I have left it plugged in. Perhaps it's not able to handle it so I get a BSOD message?
__________________

Foffy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking about upgrading. spigen New Systems | Building and Buying 10 11-24-2008 09:54 PM
Thinking of upgrading BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2008 05:52 PM
Thinking of Upgrading. smileii New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-28-2007 08:22 PM
Thinking of Upgrading ! Amd2800 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-05-2007 04:28 PM
I am thinking about upgrading SHAWN Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 07-16-2005 02:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.