A novice thinking of upgrading his PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2012, 07:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

If you took the old card out then you don't have to do anything else. (Unless you want to go through the pain of drive cleaner).
Unless the game is constantly loading things there is no way having an SSD can improve your actual frame rate. Only thing an SSD can do for you in games is the actual load of the program will be faster and loading of levels.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-17-2012, 07:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Says max peak is 700w on the bottom.
And here I thought amps were considered essential information.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 04-17-2012, 08:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

The amps are there. 700w is peak and the 12v rails probably wont handle a 580.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-17-2012, 11:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

Probably won't handle a 580? How am I to test if it can? I know when I was running Witcher 2 on max (minus Ubersampling) it ran at 60 fps, but the fans got pretty loud and the back case got pretty hot.

It's been pretty hot this week (it was 70 degrees today with notable humidity) so I'm unsure if my system is caving to the power, or it's the mix of heat + humidity that are adding factors. I had no visual issues or anything of the sort. My PC would get this loud with the old card, but I never felt up the case to feel if it gets this warm.
Foffy is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 01:11 AM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

If the 10.7a and 6.2a are you 12v rail amps then that isn't enough to cover a 580.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 10:19 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

Well, what's going to happen then? If that doesn't cover a 580, what does the entail? Crashes and overheating? I don't know how to actually verify if they're my 12v rails.
Foffy is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 10:41 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foffy View Post
AC IN 115V/230V 10.7A/6.2A 60/60 Hz
DC OUT +3.3 V +5V +12V1/+12V2/-12V2 + 5VSB
Output amperage is missing, just shows 2x 12v rails but no other info.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 11:22 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

I think I copied everything that was on the side of the box, though. Is there a program to check what it outputs on my computer? I downloaded Speedfan and all of my settings seem to be checked as good except for the third fan, which is at 79 C. Looking into it with HWMonitor, the reason that's so high is that's the temperature of the motherboard, which doesn't have a fan over it.

I can check again later, but I want to know if there's an external way to verify, as I'm a little short on time to tamper with a lot of stuff for the rest of the week.
Foffy is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 12:17 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

There are no programs that will properly tell you what your 12v amps are.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-18-2012, 12:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: A novice thinking of upgrading his PC

You want the numbers in the area I highlighted. You got the rails (+12V1/+12V2), just need the current below those.
Or a model number would work too, simple Google search will bring up the specs.


If you over-tax your power supply then you will get crashes and overheating.
If it goes on for too long you may eventually fry the power supply and, depending on the quality, it may take other components out when it goes.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking about upgrading. spigen New Systems | Building and Buying 10 11-24-2008 09:54 PM
Thinking of upgrading BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2008 05:52 PM
Thinking of Upgrading. smileii New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-28-2007 08:22 PM
Thinking of Upgrading ! Amd2800 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-05-2007 04:28 PM
I am thinking about upgrading SHAWN Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 07-16-2005 02:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.